Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 2
    It could be that it is telling you that FAT32 on a 400GB drive is a bad idea, and that you should move to NTFS (which is true, there are a lot of advantages, etc). You don't have to though.
    – soandos
    Commented May 28, 2011 at 23:46
  • @soandos: Yes I know I should, but I didn't know that when I bought this hard drive a year ago. But still, my files seem to be corrupted or something.
    – Marnix
    Commented May 28, 2011 at 23:51
  • What do you mean corrupted? Are you having issues reading from the drive?
    – soandos
    Commented May 28, 2011 at 23:52
  • @soandos: I mean that explorer doesn't want to open my external HDD, it just tells me that it has to be formatted first.
    – Marnix
    Commented May 29, 2011 at 9:22
  • Try with a different file explorer or OS. There is no reason to go and spend hundreds of dollars (usually) to recover data if you dont have to. Have you tried chkdsk?
    – soandos
    Commented May 29, 2011 at 11:37