Skip to main content
added 203 characters in body
Source Link

I had an XP System and I installed Windows 7 on another Hard Disk so now I have a dual boot. However, when I boot windows 7, the hard disk where XP is installed does not always show up.

This started after few weeks where everything worked fine.

So the XP disk doesn't show in explorer on Windows 7, and in Disk Management Utility it is marked as Unallocated. When I reorder HDD boot order in the BIOS, it seems to fix it from time to time, for a few boots, but it gets back to that bad state after some short time.

I have a Gigabyte PS3 motherboard and I updated the IDE/Stata controllers for Windows 7. HDDs are Western Digital and Seagate. I checked the SATA cables; they are correctly plugged. The power supply is 700 Watts up and working.

Edit : Similar Issue here

I had an XP System and I installed Windows 7 on another Hard Disk so now I have a dual boot. However, when I boot windows 7, the hard disk where XP is installed does not always show up.

This started after few weeks where everything worked fine.

So the XP disk doesn't show in explorer on Windows 7, and in Disk Management Utility it is marked as Unallocated. When I reorder HDD boot order in the BIOS, it seems to fix it from time to time, for a few boots, but it gets back to that bad state after some short time.

I have a Gigabyte PS3 motherboard and I updated the IDE/Stata controllers for Windows 7. HDDs are Western Digital and Seagate. I checked the SATA cables; they are correctly plugged. The power supply is 700 Watts up and working.

I had an XP System and I installed Windows 7 on another Hard Disk so now I have a dual boot. However, when I boot windows 7, the hard disk where XP is installed does not always show up.

This started after few weeks where everything worked fine.

So the XP disk doesn't show in explorer on Windows 7, and in Disk Management Utility it is marked as Unallocated. When I reorder HDD boot order in the BIOS, it seems to fix it from time to time, for a few boots, but it gets back to that bad state after some short time.

I have a Gigabyte PS3 motherboard and I updated the IDE/Stata controllers for Windows 7. HDDs are Western Digital and Seagate. I checked the SATA cables; they are correctly plugged. The power supply is 700 Watts up and working.

Edit : Similar Issue here

deleted 38 characters in body
Source Link
Pylsa
  • 31.1k
  • 16
  • 90
  • 117

I had an XP System and I installed Windows Seven7 on another Hard Disk so now I have a doubledual boot. However, when I boot on windows Seven7, the hard disk where XP is installed doestdoes not always show up.

  

This started after few weeks where everything worked fine. So

So the XP disk doesn't show in explorer on W7Windows 7, and in Disk Management Utility it is marked as Unallocated. When I reorder HDHDD boot order in Biosthe BIOS, it seems to fix it from time to time, for a few boots, but it gets back to that bad state after some short time.

I have a GygabyteGigabyte PS3 motherboard and I updated the IDE/Stata controllers for W7Windows 7. HDisksHDDs are Western Digital and Seagate. I checked the Sata cablesSATA cables; they are correctly plugged. The power supply is 700 Watts, up and working.

Any ideas are welcome.

I had an XP System and I installed Windows Seven on another Hard Disk so now I have a double boot. However, when I boot on windows Seven the hard disk where XP is installed doest not always show up.

  This started after few weeks where everything worked fine. So the XP disk doesn't show in explorer on W7, and in Disk Management Utility it is marked as Unallocated. When I reorder HD boot order in Bios it seems to fix it from time to time, for a few boots, but it gets back to that bad state after some short time.

I have a Gygabyte PS3 motherboard and I updated the IDE/Stata controllers for W7. HDisks are Western Digital and Seagate. I checked the Sata cables they are correctly plugged. The power supply is 700 Watts, up and working.

Any ideas are welcome.

I had an XP System and I installed Windows 7 on another Hard Disk so now I have a dual boot. However, when I boot windows 7, the hard disk where XP is installed does not always show up. 

This started after few weeks where everything worked fine.

So the XP disk doesn't show in explorer on Windows 7, and in Disk Management Utility it is marked as Unallocated. When I reorder HDD boot order in the BIOS, it seems to fix it from time to time, for a few boots, but it gets back to that bad state after some short time.

I have a Gigabyte PS3 motherboard and I updated the IDE/Stata controllers for Windows 7. HDDs are Western Digital and Seagate. I checked the SATA cables; they are correctly plugged. The power supply is 700 Watts up and working.

Source Link

Hard Disk marked as Unallocated on Windows 7

I had an XP System and I installed Windows Seven on another Hard Disk so now I have a double boot. However, when I boot on windows Seven the hard disk where XP is installed doest not always show up.

This started after few weeks where everything worked fine. So the XP disk doesn't show in explorer on W7, and in Disk Management Utility it is marked as Unallocated. When I reorder HD boot order in Bios it seems to fix it from time to time, for a few boots, but it gets back to that bad state after some short time.

I have a Gygabyte PS3 motherboard and I updated the IDE/Stata controllers for W7. HDisks are Western Digital and Seagate. I checked the Sata cables they are correctly plugged. The power supply is 700 Watts, up and working.

Any ideas are welcome.