Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/324289859676155906
edited tags
Link
Tamara Wijsman
  • 57.5k
  • 28
  • 188
  • 256
Source Link
PleaseStand
  • 5k
  • 1
  • 20
  • 24

How do I adjust the Windows 7 volume control over a smaller range?

I am currently using the Microsoft High Definition Audio driver provided with Windows 7 rather than the Realtek driver. When playing sound through my computer speakers (plugged into the rear panel jack), I set the volume control to 80. However, my headphones (plugged into the front panel jack) require a volume setting of at most 4.

Volume control set to zero

Windows will remember this setting when I plug/unplug the headphones, but the design of the volume control makes fine-grained volume control impossible (making me wish I had the "Wave/PCM" slider from Windows XP/Linux). Even a volume setting of zero results in clearly audible sound. Is there a way to "zoom in" on the lower part of the volume slider to better control the sound level from my headphones?