Skip to main content

Timeline for Can zipping a file break it?

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

3 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 15, 2011 at 2:31 comment added Oddthinking Thanks, @Bora, but I have no such misunderstanding. I realise zipping doesn't affect the actual data in the file. I am suggesting an "external" cause that may fool people into thinking the zip damaged their files and directories. I have been caught in the past by restoring zipped up backups, only to find that my applications no longer worked, because they depend on meta-data I didn't bring across. (Not a basic misunderstanding on my part, but merely an oversight.)
May 14, 2011 at 21:08 comment added Bora I think there is a misunderstanding to the concept of a lossless compression algorithm and programs that perform this task. Lossless means, the binary stream that is compressed will be decompressed to the identical output binary stream. Meta informations are OS dependent and have to be handled by the OS and/or the application.
May 14, 2011 at 0:55 history answered Oddthinking CC BY-SA 3.0