Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 17, 2012 at 21:45 comment added Synetech > my computer thought it was Safe Mode ... I can play all the "test" sounds @Callum, that doesn’t make sense. If the system was booting into safe mode, then the Windows Audio service won’t run, as expected. However, the “test” sounds should not be working since no audio (through the sound-card) should work; only beeps through the PC speaker. When you say you could play the test sounds, did you mean flowery audio through the external speakers or the beep-y kind from the internal speaker?
May 12, 2011 at 13:29 comment added Callum Hey James, I posted the solution as an edit to my OP.
May 12, 2011 at 13:28 comment added James P Out of interest, what did you have to do to get it working?
May 12, 2011 at 13:27 comment added Callum Cheers James, I've solved it. Your tip from above led me to realise my computer thought it was Safe Mode. That crucial piece of information allowed me to Google around for my answer. Thanks again.
May 12, 2011 at 13:22 comment added James P I would download and run MalwareBytes (malwarebytes.org) to double check the virus is definitely gone, then, if you have a Windows XP CD perhaps you could try repairing your installation. Make sure you have a backup of your data beforehand though. There is a good article here: geekstogo.com/forum/topic/138-how-to-repair-windows-xp. Personally I would prefer to do a full reinstall if possible but you will obviously lose some data. Whatever you do, make sure you have better virus protection in future!
May 12, 2011 at 13:02 comment added Callum "Windows can not find boot.ini."
May 12, 2011 at 13:01 comment added James P What does your boot.ini file show? Go Start->Run->c:\boot.ini
May 12, 2011 at 12:56 comment added Callum Did it, and it's thrown a CLUE. I tried starting Windows Audio, and the error said "Can not start while in Safe Mode". My computer thinks it's in Safe Mode. Since taking the virus off, the desktop appearance has changed a bit to look more like Safe Mode, but it doesn't look like the proper safe mode. I have booted in to the "proper" safe mode numerous times today since I lost the audio. I have also restarted the computer and explicitly chosen "Start Windows Normally", same deal. Any ideas.. ?!
May 12, 2011 at 12:46 comment added James P Also try the following: Start-> Run -> Services.msc then look for a service called Windows Audio. What is its current status? If it shows as stopped then right-click and choose start and test the audio.
May 12, 2011 at 12:46 comment added Callum No errors: Audio Codecs, Legacy Audio Drivers, Legacy Video Capture Devices, Media Control Devices, Realtek High Definition Audio, Video Codecs.
May 12, 2011 at 12:38 comment added James P Right-click My Computer and choose Properties. In the new window click the Hardware tab then click Device Manager. Have a look under the Sound, video and games controllers section and let me know what devices are shown. Are any of them showing errors?
May 12, 2011 at 12:29 comment added Callum Hi James, everything in the Audio tab is greyed out.
May 12, 2011 at 12:13 history edited James P CC BY-SA 3.0
added 34 characters in body
May 12, 2011 at 12:08 history answered James P CC BY-SA 3.0