Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

13
  • 7
    Interesting question! Yes, you're right that the USB 2 controller shares the bandwidth between its devices.
    – slhck
    Commented May 3, 2011 at 18:25
  • 12
    I can't believe I haven't thought of this yet... I'll be benchmarking it tonight. Commented May 3, 2011 at 19:02
  • 1
    Related: Do I need USB3 sticks to get USB3 speed?
    – AndrejaKo
    Commented May 3, 2011 at 19:49
  • Oooh, interesting question. Obviously they only work at USB2.0 speeds but...yeah! I dunno! I would THINK so but I really have no clue.
    – Shinrai
    Commented May 3, 2011 at 20:18
  • 1
    @Kevin: There was a similar situation in the early days of USB 2.0. Some (cheaper) hubs had only one internal USB 1->2 translation unit (shared bandwidth for all usb 1 devices), others had one translator per port (unshared full bandwidth for each).
    – Martin
    Commented May 3, 2011 at 23:12