Skip to main content
Updated to KDE 4.10, added comment about Windows.
Source Link
Raman
  • 393
  • 3
  • 8

I am running KDE 4.610. I have added an environment variable to my .profile, however this variable will obviously not be visible to programs that I start via the KDE GUI (as opposed to a shell with the updated environment) until I restart KDE.

Is there a way to tell KDE to re-read the environment, or to explicitly set the KDE environment via DBUS or similar mechanism?

One hack is to restart KDE programs like klauncher and krunner from a shell having the modified environment, but I'm looking for something more elegant (elegant means not having to alter the memory of running programs via gdb, haha).

Have we finally found something Windows can do easily that KDE/Linux cannot?

Update 04/18: Updated to KDE 4.10, added comment about Windows.

I am running KDE 4.6. I have added an environment variable to my .profile, however this variable will obviously not be visible to programs that I start via the KDE GUI (as opposed to a shell with the updated environment) until I restart KDE.

Is there a way to tell KDE to re-read the environment, or to explicitly set the KDE environment via DBUS or similar mechanism?

One hack is to restart KDE programs like klauncher and krunner from a shell having the modified environment, but I'm looking for something more elegant.

I am running KDE 4.10. I have added an environment variable to my .profile, however this variable will obviously not be visible to programs that I start via the KDE GUI (as opposed to a shell with the updated environment) until I restart KDE.

Is there a way to tell KDE to re-read the environment, or to explicitly set the KDE environment via DBUS or similar mechanism?

One hack is to restart KDE programs like klauncher and krunner from a shell having the modified environment, but I'm looking for something more elegant (elegant means not having to alter the memory of running programs via gdb, haha).

Have we finally found something Windows can do easily that KDE/Linux cannot?

Update 04/18: Updated to KDE 4.10, added comment about Windows.

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/321889007451648000
Source Link
Raman
  • 393
  • 3
  • 8

How can I modify my KDE environment without restarting?

I am running KDE 4.6. I have added an environment variable to my .profile, however this variable will obviously not be visible to programs that I start via the KDE GUI (as opposed to a shell with the updated environment) until I restart KDE.

Is there a way to tell KDE to re-read the environment, or to explicitly set the KDE environment via DBUS or similar mechanism?

One hack is to restart KDE programs like klauncher and krunner from a shell having the modified environment, but I'm looking for something more elegant.