Skip to main content
added 405 characters in body
Source Link
Calmarius
  • 978
  • 5
  • 12
  • 27

My ISP gave me a Thomson THG520 modem when I subscribed to their service. It has 2 links and USB and an Ethernet link. It worked fine with our 2 computers but for several weeks or so I experiencing that it only gives me IP address only on one interface that one that's first plugged into the computer.

If I reset the modem and plug in the USB I get an IP address immediately. If I unplug the USB and plug in the Ethernet cable I don't get an IP address. If I reset again the modem and plug in the Ethernet cable I get an IP address but not on the USB link after I unplug the modem.

What can be the problem?

EDIT: after entering the modem's administration I realized it's firmware was updated (probably my ISP did it.). Also I read about how this stuff works, there is an evidence that my ISP set the CPE limit to 1. (so it seem only one computer connected to the modem can get IP address while the other can't.). And this configuration is stored on the modem somewhere. Is there a way to view it somehow?

My ISP gave me a Thomson THG520 modem when I subscribed to their service. It has 2 links and USB and an Ethernet link. It worked fine with our 2 computers but for several weeks or so I experiencing that it only gives me IP address only on one interface that one that's first plugged into the computer.

If I reset the modem and plug in the USB I get an IP address immediately. If I unplug the USB and plug in the Ethernet cable I don't get an IP address. If I reset again the modem and plug in the Ethernet cable I get an IP address but not on the USB link after I unplug the modem.

What can be the problem?

My ISP gave me a Thomson THG520 modem when I subscribed to their service. It has 2 links and USB and an Ethernet link. It worked fine with our 2 computers but for several weeks or so I experiencing that it only gives me IP address only on one interface that one that's first plugged into the computer.

If I reset the modem and plug in the USB I get an IP address immediately. If I unplug the USB and plug in the Ethernet cable I don't get an IP address. If I reset again the modem and plug in the Ethernet cable I get an IP address but not on the USB link after I unplug the modem.

What can be the problem?

EDIT: after entering the modem's administration I realized it's firmware was updated (probably my ISP did it.). Also I read about how this stuff works, there is an evidence that my ISP set the CPE limit to 1. (so it seem only one computer connected to the modem can get IP address while the other can't.). And this configuration is stored on the modem somewhere. Is there a way to view it somehow?

Source Link
Calmarius
  • 978
  • 5
  • 12
  • 27

Thomson THG520 modem does not give ip address on both links.

My ISP gave me a Thomson THG520 modem when I subscribed to their service. It has 2 links and USB and an Ethernet link. It worked fine with our 2 computers but for several weeks or so I experiencing that it only gives me IP address only on one interface that one that's first plugged into the computer.

If I reset the modem and plug in the USB I get an IP address immediately. If I unplug the USB and plug in the Ethernet cable I don't get an IP address. If I reset again the modem and plug in the Ethernet cable I get an IP address but not on the USB link after I unplug the modem.

What can be the problem?