Skip to main content
Tag cleanup for January 2014
Link
Dave M
  • 13.2k
  • 25
  • 37
  • 48
Source Link
Jon Cage
  • 2.6k
  • 11
  • 39
  • 47

How do I copy the boot sector from one computer to another?

I have a pair of identical computers. One of them stopped booting the other day (it gets past the BIOS screen then goes black). Booting from a USB recovery stick I've verified that the partition is still there and I'm able to recover data from the corrupted disk.

When I try and restore the Master File Table using TestDisk it says that the MFT and backup is corrupt.

So...

  1. Are there any other tools I should run to help diagnosis?
  2. If this is a corrupt MFT stopping it from booting, is there a way I can back it up from the workig machine and use that backup to restore the broken machine?