Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 21, 2011 at 6:47 history edited Gareth CC BY-SA 3.0
reupload images
Jun 16, 2011 at 3:22 comment added Ian Henry @Daniel - I do not see that. However, there was a small window of time where YouTube videos did not play on Chrome on my Air (it has since resolved itself) and I had to use Safari to view them, and I distinctly remember seeing that and thinking it was weird because it didn't happen on Chrome (I checked). I am not seeing it anymore, though (Safari 5.0.5). But this New Tab page glitch is still very much present for me.
Jun 15, 2011 at 20:55 comment added Daniel Beck I have the same issue in Safari with YouTube movie descriptions and comments. regular background without sub-pixel anti-aliasing, highlighted background with sub-pixel anti-aliasing. Can you confirm in Chrome?
Jun 1, 2011 at 6:41 comment added Daniel Beck @Ian The same issue appears with the new translucent menu bar (since Leopard). If it's translucent (change in System Preferences » Desktop & Screen Saver), there's no sub-pixel anti-aliasing. They might be related and it could be a system-wide issue.
Apr 6, 2011 at 14:51 comment added Ian Henry @cabbey - I've got sub-pixel text smoothing on for fonts above size 4, the Mac default. When I turn it off, I get normal pixel-level anti-aliased text, which looks the same when blended with the transparent or opaque white backgrounds. Thus I stand by my diagnosis that it's a problem with sub-pixel blending against a transparent background. Bug in Webkit, probably, but since the workaround is so simple it seems like there'd be an easy way to force it.
Apr 6, 2011 at 6:35 comment added cabbey @Ian, can you look in system preferences, on the appearance tab, what do you have set for "USE LCD font smoothing when available" and "turn off text smoothing for font sizes __ and smaller"?
Apr 6, 2011 at 6:15 history edited Ian Henry CC BY-SA 2.5
added 265 characters in body
Apr 6, 2011 at 6:12 comment added cabbey @Daniel, I know they're allowed, that's why I didn't vote off-topic and suggest a move... just saying that if it does turn out to be something wrong with Ian's mac, there might be a better density of gurus over on apple-SE than here on SU to get him fixed up.
Apr 6, 2011 at 6:07 comment added Daniel Beck @cabbey Mac OS X related questions are allowed and welcome here. If this were about an iOS device, you'd be right, but Macs are just computers. We also welcome ubuntu questions, even though there's AskUbuntu.
Apr 6, 2011 at 6:05 answer added Patches timeline score: 0
Apr 6, 2011 at 6:05 comment added Ian Henry @cabbey - Thanks for taking a look. Happens on both my macs, so I hope they aren't both broken. I've updated with screenshots of what I'm seeing; maybe someone else can back one of us up.
Apr 6, 2011 at 6:01 history edited Ian Henry CC BY-SA 2.5
added screenshot
Apr 6, 2011 at 5:18 comment added cabbey I'm not seeing much of a difference at all with the same versions. img.skitch.com/20110406-b39133874rmq56d2fdk9sfp9tp.jpg vs img.skitch.com/20110406-rsrg25i3hwaigsx8f5937nmmc9.jpg Perhaps this is something unique to your mac? in which case you might be better off over on apple-SE.
Apr 6, 2011 at 4:35 history asked Ian Henry CC BY-SA 2.5