Skip to main content
deleted 85 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Daniel Beck
  • 110.8k
  • 16
  • 290
  • 337

We're using Cisco VPN to get access to the Internet within our organization. I'm using a Mac laoptoplaptop and when I am connected to the CISCO VPN, all traffic areis routed through the tunnel. However I need to run a VM (VirtualBox with Ubuntu as guest) for certain services. VM is connected with host via Host-Only network (192.168.56.0/24). When the VPN is connected even traffic to this address range are also sent to the VPN so I can't connect to the VM anymore.

I've tried to mess around with route command a bit. When I tried route change -net 192.168.56.0/24 192.168.56.1 to

route change -net 192.168.56.0/24 192.168.56.1

to setup the route, I got "sendto: Permission denied"sendto: Permission denied when I try to pingping VM address.

What would be the correct route setup so I can connect to the VM (through vboxnet1vboxnet1 interface) while leave all other traffic through the VPN?

Thanks, Ryan

We're using Cisco VPN to get access to the Internet within our organization. I'm using a Mac laoptop and when I am connected to the CISCO VPN, all traffic are routed through the tunnel. However I need to run a VM (VirtualBox with Ubuntu as guest) for certain services. VM is connected with host via Host-Only network (192.168.56.0/24). When the VPN is connected even traffic to this address range are also sent to the VPN so I can't connect to the VM anymore.

I've tried mess around with route command a bit. When I tried route change -net 192.168.56.0/24 192.168.56.1 to setup the route, I got "sendto: Permission denied" when I try to ping VM address.

What would be the correct route setup so I can connect to the VM (through vboxnet1 interface) while leave all other traffic through the VPN?

Thanks, Ryan

I'm using a Mac laptop and when I am connected to the CISCO VPN, all traffic is routed through the tunnel. However I need to run a VM (VirtualBox with Ubuntu as guest) for certain services. VM is connected with host via Host-Only network (192.168.56.0/24). When the VPN is connected even traffic to this address range are also sent to the VPN so I can't connect to the VM anymore.

I've tried to mess around with route command a bit. When I tried

route change -net 192.168.56.0/24 192.168.56.1

to setup the route, I got sendto: Permission denied when I try to ping VM address.

What would be the correct route setup so I can connect to the VM (through vboxnet1 interface) while leave all other traffic through the VPN?

Source Link
Ryan
  • 271
  • 3
  • 7

Disable CISCO VPN client routing for selected subnet on Mac OS X

We're using Cisco VPN to get access to the Internet within our organization. I'm using a Mac laoptop and when I am connected to the CISCO VPN, all traffic are routed through the tunnel. However I need to run a VM (VirtualBox with Ubuntu as guest) for certain services. VM is connected with host via Host-Only network (192.168.56.0/24). When the VPN is connected even traffic to this address range are also sent to the VPN so I can't connect to the VM anymore.

I've tried mess around with route command a bit. When I tried route change -net 192.168.56.0/24 192.168.56.1 to setup the route, I got "sendto: Permission denied" when I try to ping VM address.

What would be the correct route setup so I can connect to the VM (through vboxnet1 interface) while leave all other traffic through the VPN?

Thanks, Ryan