Skip to main content
Note the ActiveX security problems which might tempt you to select this option.
Source Link
Day
  • 870
  • 2
  • 8
  • 19

Solved.

I haven't heard back from Microsoft Support since sending them my log files, but I got some time to take a look myself. Here's a relevant snippet:

+++++++++++  PT: Synchronizing server updates  +++++++++++
  + ServiceId = {9482F4B4-E343-43B6-B170-9A65BC822C77}, Server URL = https://www.update.microsoft.com/v6/ClientWebService/client.asmx
Timeout for accelerated install is already set
WARNING: Cached cookie has expired or new PID is available
WARNING: PTWarn: Anonymous plug-in skipped for WU
Triggering accelerated install by calling UpdateNow
No installable updates are available
WARNING: Send failed with hr = 80072efe.
WARNING: SendRequest failed with hr = 80072efe. Proxy List used: <(null)> Bypass List used : <(null)> Auth Schemes used : <>
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestUsingProxy failed for <http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab>. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation MakeRequest failed. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation failed with 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: ShouldFileBeDownloaded failed with 0x80072efe

Note the failure to download http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab.

I tried to download this CAB file from a browser, which didn't work. I then tried wget (in cygwin) which didn't work and reported "Connection reset by peer". I also had the same problem downloading the CAB file from Linux machines on my home network, so it was not an issue with the Windows machines themselves.

To cut a long story short, I finally tracked down the problem to my router, which is running DD-WRT.

Apparently I must have enabled the "Filter ActiveX" option about a month ago and forgotten that I'd done so.

enter image description here

ThisGiven the security problems with ActiveX, this sounds like a sensible option to activate, but upon reading the help... not so much!

Filter ActiveX Blocks HTTP requests containing a URL ending in ".ocx" or ".cab".

Yes... that would certainly cause problems! Unticking this and applying the settings to the router has cured the problem on both of my Windows machines, as you'd expect.

Thanks everyone for your help & suggestions, hope this is of use to someone else.

Solved.

I haven't heard back from Microsoft Support since sending them my log files, but I got some time to take a look myself. Here's a relevant snippet:

+++++++++++  PT: Synchronizing server updates  +++++++++++
  + ServiceId = {9482F4B4-E343-43B6-B170-9A65BC822C77}, Server URL = https://www.update.microsoft.com/v6/ClientWebService/client.asmx
Timeout for accelerated install is already set
WARNING: Cached cookie has expired or new PID is available
WARNING: PTWarn: Anonymous plug-in skipped for WU
Triggering accelerated install by calling UpdateNow
No installable updates are available
WARNING: Send failed with hr = 80072efe.
WARNING: SendRequest failed with hr = 80072efe. Proxy List used: <(null)> Bypass List used : <(null)> Auth Schemes used : <>
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestUsingProxy failed for <http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab>. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation MakeRequest failed. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation failed with 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: ShouldFileBeDownloaded failed with 0x80072efe

Note the failure to download http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab.

I tried to download this CAB file from a browser, which didn't work. I then tried wget (in cygwin) which didn't work and reported "Connection reset by peer". I also had the same problem downloading the CAB file from Linux machines on my home network, so it was not an issue with the Windows machines themselves.

To cut a long story short, I finally tracked down the problem to my router, which is running DD-WRT.

Apparently I must have enabled the "Filter ActiveX" option about a month ago and forgotten that I'd done so.

enter image description here

This sounds like a sensible option to activate, but upon reading the help... not so much!

Filter ActiveX Blocks HTTP requests containing a URL ending in ".ocx" or ".cab".

Yes... that would certainly cause problems! Unticking this and applying the settings to the router has cured the problem on both of my Windows machines, as you'd expect.

Thanks everyone for your help & suggestions, hope this is of use to someone else.

Solved.

I haven't heard back from Microsoft Support since sending them my log files, but I got some time to take a look myself. Here's a relevant snippet:

+++++++++++  PT: Synchronizing server updates  +++++++++++
  + ServiceId = {9482F4B4-E343-43B6-B170-9A65BC822C77}, Server URL = https://www.update.microsoft.com/v6/ClientWebService/client.asmx
Timeout for accelerated install is already set
WARNING: Cached cookie has expired or new PID is available
WARNING: PTWarn: Anonymous plug-in skipped for WU
Triggering accelerated install by calling UpdateNow
No installable updates are available
WARNING: Send failed with hr = 80072efe.
WARNING: SendRequest failed with hr = 80072efe. Proxy List used: <(null)> Bypass List used : <(null)> Auth Schemes used : <>
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestUsingProxy failed for <http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab>. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation MakeRequest failed. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation failed with 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: ShouldFileBeDownloaded failed with 0x80072efe

Note the failure to download http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab.

I tried to download this CAB file from a browser, which didn't work. I then tried wget (in cygwin) which didn't work and reported "Connection reset by peer". I also had the same problem downloading the CAB file from Linux machines on my home network, so it was not an issue with the Windows machines themselves.

To cut a long story short, I finally tracked down the problem to my router, which is running DD-WRT.

Apparently I must have enabled the "Filter ActiveX" option about a month ago and forgotten that I'd done so.

enter image description here

Given the security problems with ActiveX, this sounds like a sensible option to activate, but upon reading the help... not so much!

Filter ActiveX Blocks HTTP requests containing a URL ending in ".ocx" or ".cab".

Yes... that would certainly cause problems! Unticking this and applying the settings to the router has cured the problem on both of my Windows machines, as you'd expect.

Thanks everyone for your help & suggestions, hope this is of use to someone else.

Source Link
Day
  • 870
  • 2
  • 8
  • 19

Solved.

I haven't heard back from Microsoft Support since sending them my log files, but I got some time to take a look myself. Here's a relevant snippet:

+++++++++++  PT: Synchronizing server updates  +++++++++++
  + ServiceId = {9482F4B4-E343-43B6-B170-9A65BC822C77}, Server URL = https://www.update.microsoft.com/v6/ClientWebService/client.asmx
Timeout for accelerated install is already set
WARNING: Cached cookie has expired or new PID is available
WARNING: PTWarn: Anonymous plug-in skipped for WU
Triggering accelerated install by calling UpdateNow
No installable updates are available
WARNING: Send failed with hr = 80072efe.
WARNING: SendRequest failed with hr = 80072efe. Proxy List used: <(null)> Bypass List used : <(null)> Auth Schemes used : <>
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestUsingProxy failed for <http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab>. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation MakeRequest failed. error 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: SendRequestToServerForFileInformation failed with 0x80072efe
WARNING: WinHttp: ShouldFileBeDownloaded failed with 0x80072efe

Note the failure to download http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/common/2009/06/2803268_2cf7737e73bd31ae709b14a95c8d2ecb7eccfbf3.cab.

I tried to download this CAB file from a browser, which didn't work. I then tried wget (in cygwin) which didn't work and reported "Connection reset by peer". I also had the same problem downloading the CAB file from Linux machines on my home network, so it was not an issue with the Windows machines themselves.

To cut a long story short, I finally tracked down the problem to my router, which is running DD-WRT.

Apparently I must have enabled the "Filter ActiveX" option about a month ago and forgotten that I'd done so.

enter image description here

This sounds like a sensible option to activate, but upon reading the help... not so much!

Filter ActiveX Blocks HTTP requests containing a URL ending in ".ocx" or ".cab".

Yes... that would certainly cause problems! Unticking this and applying the settings to the router has cured the problem on both of my Windows machines, as you'd expect.

Thanks everyone for your help & suggestions, hope this is of use to someone else.