Skip to main content
3 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 4, 2011 at 11:53 comment added Faheem Mitha (Contd) However, it is nice to be able to boot from the DVD drive if one needs to. As I said above I don't have enough reputation to vote up, otherwise would do so. Also, the usual advice is to wait 24 to 48 hrs before accepting an answer.
Mar 4, 2011 at 11:52 comment added Faheem Mitha Thanks for the comments. So the boot thing is pretty much a crap shoot? I'm actually using the 4 drives with software raid 1 (Debian Linux). The drives are two pairs of the same size, 2 x 500 Gb and 2 x 300 GB or something like that. So each pair are in a RAID 1 config - two mirrored drives. I already considered the possibility of moving one HDD to the new card (see above post) but I don't know if this config will cause problems. I only need to boot very occasionally, and yes,I think I can boot from a usb stick if I have to, though I've never tried it.
Mar 4, 2011 at 9:52 history answered Richard CC BY-SA 2.5