Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 20, 2012 at 16:12 comment added kinokijuf If the games have no copy prevention mechanism, they should work on x64 without problems.
Feb 25, 2011 at 13:51 vote accept Django Reinhardt
Feb 15, 2011 at 19:23 comment added Django Reinhardt Ok, thanks StudioHack. Other things I've read suggest that pre-XP apps are really where you should be fearful. I was somewhat surprised to hear it could games as recent as you say... they're still recent to me! :)
Feb 15, 2011 at 16:06 comment added studiohack @JohnnyW: like I said in the very first line, it depends lot on the program! I don't have any of these games, so I can't tell you for sure...perhaps install Windows 7 x64 in a VM and run it for 30 days on a trial and test your games...can't really do much more for you than that...
Feb 15, 2011 at 14:00 comment added Supercereal I know for a fact Knights of the Old Republic works GREAT! One of my favorites I play it at least once a year. But I think Studiohack was saying you can't be certain games that old will run without problems on windows 7 x64. Unlike games such as Crysis and GTA 4 (which you can say for certain will run on x64) The only way to know for sure is to try them.
Feb 15, 2011 at 13:33 comment added Django Reinhardt So, according to you, games like Fable, Darwinia, Uplink, Battlefield 2, Civ III & IV, Call of Duty 2, Half Life 1 & 2, Psychonauts, Knights of the Old Republic 1 & 2, Grand Theft Auto III & San Andreas, etc. (all of which were released years before Vista) are too old to reliably run under Windows 7 x64? Is that right?
Feb 15, 2011 at 13:10 comment added studiohack @JohnnyW: if the program is older, then you should definitely stick with x86...however, many newer (think last several years, since around when Vista was released) x86 programs will work on x64...
Feb 15, 2011 at 13:08 comment added Django Reinhardt The link you posted explicitly states: "You can run 32-bit applications in 64-bit Windows with no problems." But here you're suggesting that I should "stick with x86" if I run x86 apps. Which is it?
Feb 13, 2011 at 16:15 history answered studiohack CC BY-SA 2.5