Skip to main content
replaced http://serverfault.com/ with https://serverfault.com/
Source Link

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on serverfault, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memoryhttps://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on serverfault, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on serverfault, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: https://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on SuperUserserverfault, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on SuperUser, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on serverfault, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

added 47 characters in body
Source Link
Nathan Ridley
  • 1.5k
  • 4
  • 15
  • 16

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on SuperUser, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on SuperUser, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

I've taken this directly from system information:

  • Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
  • Total Physical Memory 2.00 GB
  • Available Physical Memory 434 MB
  • Total Virtual Memory 5.10 GB
  • Available Virtual Memory 1.19 GB
  • Page File Space 3.11 GB

Also the BIOS reports a full 4GB available.

Note the 4gb installed, yet 2gb total. I understand that on a 32 bit operating system, you'll never get the full 4gb of ram, however typically you'll get in the range of 2.5-3.2gb of ram.

I have only 2gb available! My swap file goes nuts when I do anything! Note that I have dual SLI nvidia video cards, each with 512mb of on board ram, though I have the SLI feature turned off.

Anybody know why Windows might claim that I have exactly 2gb of ram total?

Note: previously asked on SuperUser, but closed as "belongs on superuser" before this site opened: http://serverfault.com/questions/39603/windows-7-using-exactly-half-the-installed-memory (I still need an answer!)

Source Link
Nathan Ridley
  • 1.5k
  • 4
  • 15
  • 16
Loading