Skip to main content
minor corrections - well-written post! :-)
Source Link
studiohack
  • 13.4k
  • 19
  • 88
  • 118

Win7 Windows 7 Setup sees raidedRAIDed drives as independent drives?

I'm installing Windows 7 on a PC with a DFI Lanparty nf4 Ultra-D motherboard. I'm using the onboard SATA raid to combine two 250gig hdd'shard drives into a single drive.

I'm the BIOS, I have raid enabled, and I have both drives enabled as being raidable.

Then, after the BIOS, I enter the nVidia nForce Raid utility and create a new raid disc using both drives in striped mode. So now it's a single 500gig drive. It is set to be bootable.

Next I boot into the Windows 7 Setup on the DVD. When it gets to the point where you choose what drive to install to, it shows two drives:

  • Drive 0 - Unallocated Space - 250g
  • Drive 1 - Unallocated Space - 250g

I proceeded to choose "Load Drivers" and picked the latest SATA Raid WHQL drivers I got from nVidia's website. Setup successfully loaded them and took me back to the drive menu, but it doesn't show me a single drive still. It shows the same thing. 2 drives of unallocated space.

Also, it will only allow me to create a new partition on Drive 0, not Drive 1. For Drive 1 it says the disc is marked as non-bootable and that I need to enable it to be bootable in the BIOS...

I know that I'm using the right raid drivers here. Anyone ever seen this before?

Win7 Setup sees raided drives as independent drives

I'm installing Windows 7 on a PC with a DFI Lanparty nf4 Ultra-D motherboard. I'm using the onboard SATA raid to combine two 250gig hdd's into a single drive.

I'm the BIOS, I have raid enabled, and I have both drives enabled as being raidable.

Then, after the BIOS, I enter the nVidia nForce Raid utility and create a new raid disc using both drives in striped mode. So now it's a single 500gig drive. It is set to be bootable.

Next I boot into the Windows 7 Setup on the DVD. When it gets to the point where you choose what drive to install to, it shows two drives:

  • Drive 0 - Unallocated Space - 250g
  • Drive 1 - Unallocated Space - 250g

I proceeded to choose "Load Drivers" and picked the latest SATA Raid WHQL drivers I got from nVidia's website. Setup successfully loaded them and took me back to the drive menu, but it doesn't show me a single drive still. It shows the same thing. 2 drives of unallocated space.

Also, it will only allow me to create a new partition on Drive 0, not Drive 1. For Drive 1 it says the disc is marked as non-bootable and that I need to enable it to be bootable in the BIOS...

I know that I'm using the right raid drivers here. Anyone ever seen this before?

Windows 7 Setup sees RAIDed drives as independent drives?

I'm installing Windows 7 on a PC with a DFI Lanparty nf4 Ultra-D motherboard. I'm using the onboard SATA raid to combine two 250gig hard drives into a single drive.

I'm the BIOS, I have raid enabled, and I have both drives enabled as being raidable.

Then, after the BIOS, I enter the nVidia nForce Raid utility and create a new raid disc using both drives in striped mode. So now it's a single 500gig drive. It is set to be bootable.

Next I boot into the Windows 7 Setup on the DVD. When it gets to the point where you choose what drive to install to, it shows two drives:

  • Drive 0 - Unallocated Space - 250g
  • Drive 1 - Unallocated Space - 250g

I proceeded to choose "Load Drivers" and picked the latest SATA Raid WHQL drivers I got from nVidia's website. Setup successfully loaded them and took me back to the drive menu, but it doesn't show me a single drive still. It shows the same thing. 2 drives of unallocated space.

Also, it will only allow me to create a new partition on Drive 0, not Drive 1. For Drive 1 it says the disc is marked as non-bootable and that I need to enable it to be bootable in the BIOS...

I know that I'm using the right raid drivers here. Anyone ever seen this before?

Source Link
Jake Wilson
  • 4.4k
  • 10
  • 40
  • 39

Win7 Setup sees raided drives as independent drives

I'm installing Windows 7 on a PC with a DFI Lanparty nf4 Ultra-D motherboard. I'm using the onboard SATA raid to combine two 250gig hdd's into a single drive.

I'm the BIOS, I have raid enabled, and I have both drives enabled as being raidable.

Then, after the BIOS, I enter the nVidia nForce Raid utility and create a new raid disc using both drives in striped mode. So now it's a single 500gig drive. It is set to be bootable.

Next I boot into the Windows 7 Setup on the DVD. When it gets to the point where you choose what drive to install to, it shows two drives:

  • Drive 0 - Unallocated Space - 250g
  • Drive 1 - Unallocated Space - 250g

I proceeded to choose "Load Drivers" and picked the latest SATA Raid WHQL drivers I got from nVidia's website. Setup successfully loaded them and took me back to the drive menu, but it doesn't show me a single drive still. It shows the same thing. 2 drives of unallocated space.

Also, it will only allow me to create a new partition on Drive 0, not Drive 1. For Drive 1 it says the disc is marked as non-bootable and that I need to enable it to be bootable in the BIOS...

I know that I'm using the right raid drivers here. Anyone ever seen this before?