Skip to main content
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
Michael Prescott
  • 4.1k
  • 14
  • 51
  • 66

I have two user defined variables:

ANT_HOME set to %USERPROFILE%\Developer\Tools\Apache\Apache Ant\apache-ant-1.8.2 JAVA_HOME set to C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_23

And I want append those paths to the System variable so I can access the executables in their bin folders. I tried

PATH set to [other paths];%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

However, that doesn't work. When I open a command-prompt and echo %PATH% the user variables are not expandedthe user variables are not expanded. So the path just shows the literal, ;%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

I seem to recall this working fine on my old Windows XP systems. How do I set this up on Windows 7?

I have two user defined variables:

ANT_HOME set to %USERPROFILE%\Developer\Tools\Apache\Apache Ant\apache-ant-1.8.2 JAVA_HOME set to C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_23

And I want append those paths to the System variable so I can access the executables in their bin folders. I tried

PATH set to [other paths];%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

However, that doesn't work. When I open a command-prompt and echo %PATH% the user variables are not expanded. So the path just shows the literal, ;%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

I seem to recall this working fine on my old Windows XP systems. How do I set this up on Windows 7?

I have two user defined variables:

ANT_HOME set to %USERPROFILE%\Developer\Tools\Apache\Apache Ant\apache-ant-1.8.2 JAVA_HOME set to C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_23

And I want append those paths to the System variable so I can access the executables in their bin folders. I tried

PATH set to [other paths];%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

However, that doesn't work. When I open a command-prompt and echo %PATH% the user variables are not expanded. So the path just shows the literal, ;%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

I seem to recall this working fine on my old Windows XP systems. How do I set this up on Windows 7?

Source Link
Michael Prescott
  • 4.1k
  • 14
  • 51
  • 66

How do I append user-defined environment variables to the system variable PATH in Windows 7?

I have two user defined variables:

ANT_HOME set to %USERPROFILE%\Developer\Tools\Apache\Apache Ant\apache-ant-1.8.2 JAVA_HOME set to C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_23

And I want append those paths to the System variable so I can access the executables in their bin folders. I tried

PATH set to [other paths];%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

However, that doesn't work. When I open a command-prompt and echo %PATH% the user variables are not expanded. So the path just shows the literal, ;%ANT_HOME%\bin;%JAVA_HOME%\bin

I seem to recall this working fine on my old Windows XP systems. How do I set this up on Windows 7?