Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Needs more focus" by Mokubai
Question Protected by Giacomo1968
Post Made Community Wiki by Cheyne
Noted that PGP/GPG probably don't cut it
Source Link
Adam DiCarlo
  • 368
  • 1
  • 4
  • 9

I often need to get passwords from clients for FTP, SSH, MySQL, Authorize.net, etc.

What's an easy way for them to send me passwords securely? Maybe even without them needing a login/password?

Encrypted IM sessions are a hassle to set up with non-techies. Phone calls break up my concentration and require arranging. (Are VOIP calls secure, anyway?)

Ideal: An easyeasy way for non-tech-savvynon-tech-savvy people to send encrypted email. PGP/GPG doesn't cut it, unless Outlook has some super-easy built-in wizard. (You never know...?)

Good: A web-based secure message system (hopefully in PHP) that I could host and run over SSL. I haven't been able to find anything like this.

Maybe I'm asking the wrong thing or the wrong way. Any suggestions are appreciated!

I often need to get passwords from clients for FTP, SSH, MySQL, Authorize.net, etc.

What's an easy way for them to send me passwords securely? Maybe even without them needing a login/password?

Encrypted IM sessions are a hassle to set up with non-techies. Phone calls break up my concentration and require arranging. (Are VOIP calls secure, anyway?)

Ideal: An easy way for non-tech-savvy people to send encrypted email.

Good: A web-based secure message system (hopefully in PHP) that I could host and run over SSL. I haven't been able to find anything like this.

Maybe I'm asking the wrong thing or the wrong way. Any suggestions are appreciated!

I often need to get passwords from clients for FTP, SSH, MySQL, Authorize.net, etc.

What's an easy way for them to send me passwords securely? Maybe even without them needing a login/password?

Encrypted IM sessions are a hassle to set up with non-techies. Phone calls break up my concentration and require arranging. (Are VOIP calls secure, anyway?)

Ideal: An easy way for non-tech-savvy people to send encrypted email. PGP/GPG doesn't cut it, unless Outlook has some super-easy built-in wizard. (You never know...?)

Good: A web-based secure message system (hopefully in PHP) that I could host and run over SSL. I haven't been able to find anything like this.

Maybe I'm asking the wrong thing or the wrong way. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Source Link
Adam DiCarlo
  • 368
  • 1
  • 4
  • 9

How can clients easily and securely send me passwords?

I often need to get passwords from clients for FTP, SSH, MySQL, Authorize.net, etc.

What's an easy way for them to send me passwords securely? Maybe even without them needing a login/password?

Encrypted IM sessions are a hassle to set up with non-techies. Phone calls break up my concentration and require arranging. (Are VOIP calls secure, anyway?)

Ideal: An easy way for non-tech-savvy people to send encrypted email.

Good: A web-based secure message system (hopefully in PHP) that I could host and run over SSL. I haven't been able to find anything like this.

Maybe I'm asking the wrong thing or the wrong way. Any suggestions are appreciated!