Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Have you uninstalled iTunes completely? Have you deleted your library and recreated it? Have you checked the physical disk surface?
    – user3463
    Commented Nov 17, 2010 at 18:18
  • Hi Randolph, as I said, I've had this problem for many versions of iTunes and OS X. I've always done clean installs, so essentially, yes to your first question. As for re-creating my library, I have done so from Time Machine backups, but I can't feasibly re-create it from scratch. Disk surface is fine.
    – msanford
    Commented Nov 17, 2010 at 19:06
  • Also, when I do clean installs, I never restore podcasts or iTunes U media from backups: I re-download them anew.
    – msanford
    Commented Nov 17, 2010 at 19:10
  • 2
    Have you tried using Spin Control (an Apple Developer Tool)? This may help identify the failure if you start it up, than cause your failure with iTunes.
    – Everett
    Commented Nov 17, 2010 at 20:51
  • 1
    SpinControl crashes when I try to view the logs. What a disaster... Great suggestion though.
    – msanford
    Commented Nov 30, 2010 at 21:40