Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Copy edits.
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.2k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

What is the "wheel" user in OSmacOS/OS X?

I recently reinstalled iTunes and I noticed something peculiar. 

The "original"original version of iTunes has a user in the permissions known as "wheel"wheel that is set to "Read Only". 

I dragged this version of iTunes to the trash and installed a new copy, and when I look at the properties for iTunes it no longer says wheelwheel, but rather just adminadmin.

Here is a screenshot with the new version (left) and the old version (right):

enter image description hereenter image description here

What is the "wheel" user"wheel user? How is it set (I can't seem to set it in the GUI)? Why would the permissions be different now? 

It's not a problem, I'm just terribly curious.

What is the "wheel" user in OS X?

I recently reinstalled iTunes and I noticed something peculiar. The "original" version of iTunes has a user in the permissions known as "wheel" that is set to "Read Only". I dragged this version of iTunes to the trash and installed a new copy, and when I look at the properties for iTunes it no longer says wheel, but rather just admin.

Here is a screenshot with the new version (left) and the old version (right):

enter image description here

What is the "wheel" user"? How is it set (I can't seem to set it in the GUI)? Why would the permissions be different now? It's not a problem, I'm just terribly curious.

What is the "wheel" user in macOS/OS X?

I recently reinstalled iTunes and I noticed something peculiar. 

The original version of iTunes has a user in the permissions known as wheel that is set to "Read Only". 

I dragged this version of iTunes to the trash and installed a new copy, and when I look at the properties for iTunes it no longer says wheel, but rather just admin.

Here is a screenshot with the new version (left) and the old version (right):

enter image description here

What is the wheel user? How is it set (I can't seem to set it in the GUI)? Why would the permissions be different now? 

It's not a problem, I'm just terribly curious.

Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1519239936477745155
add image inline
Source Link
Gareth
  • 18.9k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 69

I recently reinstalled iTunes and I noticed something peculiar. The "original" version of iTunes has a user in the permissions known as "wheel" that is set to "Read Only". I dragged this version of iTunes to the trash and installed a new copy, and when I look at the properties for iTunes it no longer says wheel, but rather just admin.

Here is a screenshot with the new version (left) and the old version (right): https://i.sstatic.net/2bNCF.png

enter image description here

What is the "wheel" user"? How is it set (I can't seem to set it in the GUI)? Why would the permissions be different now? It's not a problem, I'm just terribly curious.

I recently reinstalled iTunes and I noticed something peculiar. The "original" version of iTunes has a user in the permissions known as "wheel" that is set to "Read Only". I dragged this version of iTunes to the trash and installed a new copy, and when I look at the properties for iTunes it no longer says wheel, but rather just admin.

Here is a screenshot with the new version (left) and the old version (right): https://i.sstatic.net/2bNCF.png

What is the "wheel" user"? How is it set (I can't seem to set it in the GUI)? Why would the permissions be different now? It's not a problem, I'm just terribly curious.

I recently reinstalled iTunes and I noticed something peculiar. The "original" version of iTunes has a user in the permissions known as "wheel" that is set to "Read Only". I dragged this version of iTunes to the trash and installed a new copy, and when I look at the properties for iTunes it no longer says wheel, but rather just admin.

Here is a screenshot with the new version (left) and the old version (right):

enter image description here

What is the "wheel" user"? How is it set (I can't seem to set it in the GUI)? Why would the permissions be different now? It's not a problem, I'm just terribly curious.

Source Link
ralphthemagician
  • 1.6k
  • 2
  • 11
  • 8

What is the "wheel" user in OS X?

I recently reinstalled iTunes and I noticed something peculiar. The "original" version of iTunes has a user in the permissions known as "wheel" that is set to "Read Only". I dragged this version of iTunes to the trash and installed a new copy, and when I look at the properties for iTunes it no longer says wheel, but rather just admin.

Here is a screenshot with the new version (left) and the old version (right): https://i.sstatic.net/2bNCF.png

What is the "wheel" user"? How is it set (I can't seem to set it in the GUI)? Why would the permissions be different now? It's not a problem, I'm just terribly curious.