Skip to main content

Timeline for PuTTY sends Ctrl+Shift+6 as Ctrl+6

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
2 hours ago comment added JW0914 I should have verified the nano hotkeys - did you configure a custom hotkey, as searching backwards is Ctrl+B / Alt+B? xterm-256color is recommended for a colorized shell (I use Oh-My-Zsh) and CtrlShiftCV is for using Ctrl+Shift+C/V, but this option is disabled by default (see 4.11.4.2 in the PuTTY Help pages: Open: Settings → Window → Highlight: Selection → Click ? in upper right of window → Click: "Ctrl + Shift + {C,V}")
yesterday comment added Old Geezer I diff'ed the two profiles and what I think could be relevant different ones are: TerminalType of xterm (yours is xterm-256color, CtrlShiftCV of none (yours is implicit. (I am ok with not using Ctrl-C to copy to the clipboard.) Other different ones include TerminalSpeed, HideMousePtr, CurType, ScrollBar`, etc. If you need the whole list I can add that to my question.
Jul 2 at 12:32 comment added JW0914 If PuTTY is installed on Windows, please post the output from exported Registry key HKCU\Software\SimonTatham\PuTTY\Sessions\<name>, where <name> is either the saved profile name for that connection or the default profile (if the former, please anonymize it, removing the connection and login info). This will allow a comparison to be done - try this customized PuTTY profile I use, and if it resolves the issue, a diff compare can be done.
Jul 2 at 7:08 comment added Old Geezer This is on a newly installed PC, and the remote computer has not changed. I have previously been able to search backwards on nano via PuTTY. So it looks like an issue with the PuTTY profile.
Jul 1 at 9:44 history edited Old Geezer CC BY-SA 4.0
added 1 character in body
Jul 1 at 9:40 comment added JW0914 Do those key bindings work outside of nano (e.g. can you copy/paste via Ctrl+Shift+C/V)? I've never encountered this problem, but can't recall if I'm using the default PuTTY profile or if I customized it - the only other places that would affect this AFAIK would be the Nano RC file, the shell's RC file, or termcap's.
Jul 1 at 9:35 history edited JW0914 CC BY-SA 4.0
Added correct markdown for monospaced code ; Grammatical corrections (incl. formatting)
Jul 1 at 8:52 history asked Old Geezer CC BY-SA 4.0