Skip to main content
added 322 characters in body
Source Link
David Alsh
  • 445
  • 2
  • 8
  • 17

I am building a DIY home server NAS with a DAS and Proxmox (canand don't need enterprise-grade redundancy. I am happy to use something elseother than Proxmox, I just like the UI andhow easy it is to use containers) and it's often recommended for home labs.

At worse; if I lost all the data in the pool it would be a major inconvenience but nothing irreplaceable would be lost.

I am filling the drive pool with different sized hard drives I have lying around and would like to build it such that I can:

  • Add new drives when I need more storage
  • Remove & replace smaller drives with larger ones
  • Survive the failure of 1 drive
    • Can an imminent HDD failure be detected and the need for parity mitigateddata recovery avoided by adding a new drive andto the pool, migrating data off of the failing drive and removing the failing drive before it fails?
    • This would be more risky but it would avoid the need for a parity drive or fancy RAID configuration

I have a very basic understanding of techniques of redundancy when combining drives but it sounds like I want something similar to RAID5, where I can have 1 drive failure in a pool of 5 disks and recover by replacing the failed drive. However this only works for a pool of 5 disks of identical size.

I have been trying to understand if an LVM pool could be used for this - I believe that's similar to combining drives using the Windows partitioning tool.

I am building a DIY home server NAS with a DAS and Proxmox (can use something else, I just like the UI and easy containers)

I am filling the drive pool with different sized hard drives I have lying around and would like to build it such that I can:

  • Add new drives when I need more storage
  • Remove & replace smaller drives with larger ones
  • Survive the failure of 1 drive
    • Can an imminent HDD failure be detected and the need for parity mitigated by adding a new drive and migrating data off of the failing drive?

I have a very basic understanding of techniques of redundancy when combining drives but it sounds like I want something similar to RAID5, where I can have 1 drive failure in a pool of 5 disks and recover by replacing the failed drive. However this only works for a pool of 5 disks of identical size.

I have been trying to understand if an LVM pool could be used for this - I believe that's similar to combining drives using the Windows partitioning tool.

I am building a DIY home server NAS with a DAS and Proxmox and don't need enterprise-grade redundancy. I am happy to use something other than Proxmox, I just like how easy it is to use containers and it's often recommended for home labs.

At worse; if I lost all the data in the pool it would be a major inconvenience but nothing irreplaceable would be lost.

I am filling the drive pool with different sized hard drives I have lying around and would like to build it such that I can:

  • Add new drives when I need more storage
  • Remove & replace smaller drives with larger ones
  • Survive the failure of 1 drive
    • Can an imminent HDD failure be detected and data recovery avoided by adding a new drive to the pool, migrating data off of the failing drive and removing the failing drive before it fails?
    • This would be more risky but it would avoid the need for a parity drive or fancy RAID configuration

I have a very basic understanding of techniques of redundancy when combining drives but it sounds like I want something similar to RAID5, where I can have 1 drive failure in a pool of 5 disks and recover by replacing the failed drive. However this only works for a pool of 5 disks of identical size.

I have been trying to understand if an LVM pool could be used for this - I believe that's similar to combining drives using the Windows partitioning tool.

Source Link
David Alsh
  • 445
  • 2
  • 8
  • 17

What drive pool/RAID option is best for a home media server with uneven drive sizes?

I am building a DIY home server NAS with a DAS and Proxmox (can use something else, I just like the UI and easy containers)

I am filling the drive pool with different sized hard drives I have lying around and would like to build it such that I can:

  • Add new drives when I need more storage
  • Remove & replace smaller drives with larger ones
  • Survive the failure of 1 drive
    • Can an imminent HDD failure be detected and the need for parity mitigated by adding a new drive and migrating data off of the failing drive?

I have a very basic understanding of techniques of redundancy when combining drives but it sounds like I want something similar to RAID5, where I can have 1 drive failure in a pool of 5 disks and recover by replacing the failed drive. However this only works for a pool of 5 disks of identical size.

I have been trying to understand if an LVM pool could be used for this - I believe that's similar to combining drives using the Windows partitioning tool.