Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 16 at 20:58 comment added lolmaus - Andrey Mikhaylov Note that the issue does not happen on VLC on Windows. This means that it's an issue of SMB implementation/configuration?
Jun 14 at 19:56 comment added lolmaus - Andrey Mikhaylov I'm not saying its media player fault. I'm saying media players could make effort to address ithe SMB fault, given that SMB is a very common case for them.
Jun 13 at 16:20 comment added music2myear I don't think it's necessarily a video player issue per se. SMB just has a lot of overhead and is intended as a general purpose file sharing/transfer protocol. Media is special and works better with systems optimized for its needs.
Jun 13 at 15:59 comment added lolmaus - Andrey Mikhaylov Also, it messes with me a lot that initiating a simple file copy and watching a pending file does not have the issue. I do understand that it's an infinite cache. But why can't a video player cache in much larger chunks? I mean, I have plenty of RAM and I wouldn't mind a disk cache either... Why is it not solvable on the video player side?
Jun 13 at 15:56 comment added lolmaus - Andrey Mikhaylov Thanks! I was hoping there's an easier fix like opting into SMB v3, but I guess you're right.
Jun 13 at 14:45 history answered music2myear CC BY-SA 4.0