Skip to main content
making my post more specific
Source Link
vrms
  • 199
  • 1
  • 1
  • 9

I have a large file in Wondows and neetd to transport it to a Linux server via the linux /tmp folder that has onlz limited capacity.

In order to do so I created a zip with 7zip on my Windows host (where I can not install any additional tools on, due to company resrictions) and split that into 4 files.

largefile.zip.001
largefile.zip.002
largefile.zip.003
largefile.zip.004

extracting the main ~.zip.001 with 7zip on Windows again, seems to pull the data from the other files ~.002-.004. So it somehow recognizez the relation among them.

now how can I achive the same thing on the linux target? gunzip largefile.zip.001 as well as gunzip largefile.zip.00{1,2,3,4} resulted into a unexpected end of file error.

Did I just not identify the right option in man gunzip, or can anybody recommened anything else to do this?


edit:edit: I can neither install anything beyond the mere basics (i.e.and the below mentione 7zip fo rlinuxmentioned 7zip for linux is not one of them) on my rhel server due to lack of sudo privileges.

I have a large file in Wondows and neetd to transport it to a Linux server via the linux /tmp folder that has onlz limited capacity.

In order to do so I created a zip with 7zip on my Windows host (where I can not install any additional tools on, due to company resrictions) and split that into 4 files.

largefile.zip.001
largefile.zip.002
largefile.zip.003
largefile.zip.004

extracting the main ~.zip.001 with 7zip on Windows again, seems to pull the data from the other files ~.002-.004. So it somehow recognizez the relation among them.

now how can I achive the same thing on the linux target? gunzip largefile.zip.001 as well as gunzip largefile.zip.00{1,2,3,4} resulted into a unexpected end of file error.

Did I just not identify the right option in man gunzip, or can anybody recommened anything else to do this?


edit: I can neither install anything beyond the mere basics (i.e. the below mentione 7zip fo rlinux) on my rhel server.

I have a large file in Wondows and neetd to transport it to a Linux server via the linux /tmp folder that has onlz limited capacity.

In order to do so I created a zip with 7zip on my Windows host (where I can not install any additional tools on, due to company resrictions) and split that into 4 files.

largefile.zip.001
largefile.zip.002
largefile.zip.003
largefile.zip.004

extracting the main ~.zip.001 with 7zip on Windows again, seems to pull the data from the other files ~.002-.004. So it somehow recognizez the relation among them.

now how can I achive the same thing on the linux target? gunzip largefile.zip.001 as well as gunzip largefile.zip.00{1,2,3,4} resulted into a unexpected end of file error.

Did I just not identify the right option in man gunzip, or can anybody recommened anything else to do this?


edit: I can neither install anything beyond the mere basics (and the below mentioned 7zip for linux is not one of them) on my rhel server due to lack of sudo privileges.

making my post more specific
Source Link
vrms
  • 199
  • 1
  • 1
  • 9

I have a large file in Wondows and neetd to transport it to a Linux server via the linux /tmp folder that has onlz limited capacity.

In order to do so I created a zip with 7zip on my Windows host (where I can not install any additional tools on, due to company resrictions) and split that into 4 files.

largefile.zip.001
largefile.zip.002
largefile.zip.003
largefile.zip.004

extracting the main ~.zip.001 with 7zip on Windows again, seems to pull the data from the other files ~.002-.004. So it somehow recognizez the relation among them.

now how can I achive the same thing on the linux target? gunzip largefile.zip.001 as well as gunzip largefile.zip.00{1,2,3,4} resulted into a unexpected end of file error.

Did I just not identify the right option in man gunzip, or can anybody recommened anything else to do this?


edit: I can neither install anything beyond the mere basics (i.e. the below mentione 7zip fo rlinux) on my rhel server.

I have a large file in Wondows and neetd to transport it to a Linux server via the linux /tmp folder that has onlz limited capacity.

In order to do so I created a zip with 7zip on my Windows host (where I can not install any additional tools on, due to company resrictions) and split that into 4 files.

largefile.zip.001
largefile.zip.002
largefile.zip.003
largefile.zip.004

extracting the main ~.zip.001 with 7zip on Windows again, seems to pull the data from the other files ~.002-.004. So it somehow recognizez the relation among them.

now how can I achive the same thing on the linux target? gunzip largefile.zip.001 as well as gunzip largefile.zip.00{1,2,3,4} resulted into a unexpected end of file error.

Did I just not identify the right option in man gunzip, or can anybody recommened anything else to do this?

I have a large file in Wondows and neetd to transport it to a Linux server via the linux /tmp folder that has onlz limited capacity.

In order to do so I created a zip with 7zip on my Windows host (where I can not install any additional tools on, due to company resrictions) and split that into 4 files.

largefile.zip.001
largefile.zip.002
largefile.zip.003
largefile.zip.004

extracting the main ~.zip.001 with 7zip on Windows again, seems to pull the data from the other files ~.002-.004. So it somehow recognizez the relation among them.

now how can I achive the same thing on the linux target? gunzip largefile.zip.001 as well as gunzip largefile.zip.00{1,2,3,4} resulted into a unexpected end of file error.

Did I just not identify the right option in man gunzip, or can anybody recommened anything else to do this?


edit: I can neither install anything beyond the mere basics (i.e. the below mentione 7zip fo rlinux) on my rhel server.

Source Link
vrms
  • 199
  • 1
  • 1
  • 9

extract a multifile .zip archive on Linux (with gunzip)

I have a large file in Wondows and neetd to transport it to a Linux server via the linux /tmp folder that has onlz limited capacity.

In order to do so I created a zip with 7zip on my Windows host (where I can not install any additional tools on, due to company resrictions) and split that into 4 files.

largefile.zip.001
largefile.zip.002
largefile.zip.003
largefile.zip.004

extracting the main ~.zip.001 with 7zip on Windows again, seems to pull the data from the other files ~.002-.004. So it somehow recognizez the relation among them.

now how can I achive the same thing on the linux target? gunzip largefile.zip.001 as well as gunzip largefile.zip.00{1,2,3,4} resulted into a unexpected end of file error.

Did I just not identify the right option in man gunzip, or can anybody recommened anything else to do this?