Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Needs details or clarity" by Toto, cybernetic.nomad, music2myear, Blindspots, Joep van Steen
deleted 79 characters in body
Source Link
Yisroel Tech
  • 11.3k
  • 3
  • 27
  • 42

Good day,

My higher ups gave me a task in excel, and I'm relatively new to this tool.

What I need itlooking for isa formula to search a pattern of LastName, FirstName, CompanyName in a cell, not in a group of cell but just in a single cell.

Example are as follows

A1 Dollbert, John - Mainland Private Limited A2 Jackson, Jennifer - Plastic Pty. Ltd. A3 Fernando, Sammy - RTC Pty Ltd:
A1 Dollbert, John - Mainland Private Limited
A2 Jackson, Jennifer - Plastic Pty. Ltd.
A3 Fernando, Sammy - RTC Pty Ltd

I know some basics functions and some of the more advanced if functions and some basics of index, match functions, but that's just my limit for now.

I didtried to lookup on googleGoogle how to accomplish this but no luck, and some are just for searching cell by cell per word, which is not what I need.

I have no formula for this yet as I've never really managed to accomplish this, all that I've tried are just not working or not even close.

Thank you in advance.

Good day,

My higher ups gave me a task in excel, and I'm relatively new to this tool.

What I need it for is to search a pattern of LastName, FirstName, CompanyName in a cell, not in a group of cell but just in a single cell.

Example are as follows

A1 Dollbert, John - Mainland Private Limited A2 Jackson, Jennifer - Plastic Pty. Ltd. A3 Fernando, Sammy - RTC Pty Ltd

I know some basics functions and some of the more advanced if functions and some basics of index, match functions, but that's just my limit for now.

I did lookup on google how to accomplish this but no luck, and some are just for searching cell by cell per word which is not what I need.

I have no formula for this yet as I've never really managed to accomplish this, all that I've tried are just not working or not even close.

Thank you in advance.

I'm looking for a formula to search a pattern of LastName, FirstName, CompanyName in a cell, not in a group of cell but just in a single cell.

Example are as follows:
A1 Dollbert, John - Mainland Private Limited
A2 Jackson, Jennifer - Plastic Pty. Ltd.
A3 Fernando, Sammy - RTC Pty Ltd

I know some basics functions and some of the more advanced if functions and some basics of index, match functions, but that's just my limit for now.

I tried to lookup on Google how to accomplish this but no luck, and some are just for searching cell by cell per word, which is not what I need.

I have no formula for this yet as I've never really managed to accomplish this, all that I've tried are just not working or not even close.

Thank you in advance.

Source Link

Looking for a formula to search a pattern in Excel

Good day,

My higher ups gave me a task in excel, and I'm relatively new to this tool.

What I need it for is to search a pattern of LastName, FirstName, CompanyName in a cell, not in a group of cell but just in a single cell.

Example are as follows

A1 Dollbert, John - Mainland Private Limited A2 Jackson, Jennifer - Plastic Pty. Ltd. A3 Fernando, Sammy - RTC Pty Ltd

I know some basics functions and some of the more advanced if functions and some basics of index, match functions, but that's just my limit for now.

I did lookup on google how to accomplish this but no luck, and some are just for searching cell by cell per word which is not what I need.

I have no formula for this yet as I've never really managed to accomplish this, all that I've tried are just not working or not even close.

Thank you in advance.