Skip to main content
added 83 characters in body
Source Link
Leo
  • 1
  • 1

I have a 144Hz monitor that works perfectly for games or any demanding app. But I get constant stuttering / low framerate on the desktop (web browsers, explorer, excel, etc.).

But, whenever there's something playing on Chrome there are no issues. Zero. Everything runs smoothly.

This only works if Chrome is not minimized, but it doesn't have to be on the foreground.
Playing a local file on Chrome also works. Playing it on VLC doesn't.
This also works on Brave, but not on Firefox.

I have tried setting the Windows power plan to High Performance.
I set on Nvidia Control Panel to prioritize performance.
Also set apps to high performance on the graphics options on the Windows Settings.
None of that worked.

i5-13400
Nvidia 4060
32GB Ram
Windows 10 up-to-date

This is driving me crazy. I always need to have something playing to not get a laggy stuttery mess while using the computer. I've looked online for possible solutions, but couldn't find anything even similar to what I'm experiencing. Any help would be appreciated.

I have a 144Hz monitor that works perfectly for games or any demanding app. But I get constant stuttering / low framerate on the desktop (web browsers, explorer, excel, etc.).

But, whenever there's something playing on Chrome there are no issues. Zero. Everything runs smoothly.

This only works if Chrome is not minimized, but it doesn't have to be on the foreground.
Playing a local file on Chrome also works. Playing it on VLC doesn't.
This also works on Brave, but not on Firefox.

I have tried setting the Windows power plan to High Performance.
I set on Nvidia Control Panel to prioritize performance.
Also set apps to high performance on the graphics options on the Windows Settings.
None of that worked.

i5-13400
Nvidia 4060
32GB Ram
Windows 10 up-to-date

This is driving me crazy. I always need to have something playing to not get a laggy stuttery mess while using the computer. Any help would be appreciated.

I have a 144Hz monitor that works perfectly for games or any demanding app. But I get constant stuttering / low framerate on the desktop (web browsers, explorer, excel, etc.).

But, whenever there's something playing on Chrome there are no issues. Zero. Everything runs smoothly.

This only works if Chrome is not minimized, but it doesn't have to be on the foreground.
Playing a local file on Chrome also works. Playing it on VLC doesn't.
This also works on Brave, but not on Firefox.

I have tried setting the Windows power plan to High Performance.
I set on Nvidia Control Panel to prioritize performance.
Also set apps to high performance on the graphics options on the Windows Settings.
None of that worked.

i5-13400
Nvidia 4060
32GB Ram
Windows 10 up-to-date

I always need to have something playing to not get a laggy stuttery mess while using the computer. I've looked online for possible solutions, but couldn't find anything even similar to what I'm experiencing. Any help would be appreciated.

Source Link
Leo
  • 1
  • 1

Windows Desktop lags constantly, unless youtube is playing a video

I have a 144Hz monitor that works perfectly for games or any demanding app. But I get constant stuttering / low framerate on the desktop (web browsers, explorer, excel, etc.).

But, whenever there's something playing on Chrome there are no issues. Zero. Everything runs smoothly.

This only works if Chrome is not minimized, but it doesn't have to be on the foreground.
Playing a local file on Chrome also works. Playing it on VLC doesn't.
This also works on Brave, but not on Firefox.

I have tried setting the Windows power plan to High Performance.
I set on Nvidia Control Panel to prioritize performance.
Also set apps to high performance on the graphics options on the Windows Settings.
None of that worked.

i5-13400
Nvidia 4060
32GB Ram
Windows 10 up-to-date

This is driving me crazy. I always need to have something playing to not get a laggy stuttery mess while using the computer. Any help would be appreciated.