Skip to main content
improved formatting
Source Link
Kamil Maciorowski
  • 75.5k
  • 22
  • 152
  • 229

I recently used the Hydra tool and want to share my experience. I created a custom word list and placed the password in the 10th position. When I used the command [hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet],

hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet

it worked fine. Then, I shifted the same password from the 10th to the 30th row in the list and used the same command again, but it couldn't find the password. However, when I increased the number of threads with [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet],

hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet

it worked.

Now, if I shift the password from the 30th to the 60th row and use the same command [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet],

hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet

it doesn't work. It seems that I have to provide a value to -t-t greater than or equal to the row number where the password is located for it to work. However, the limitation of '-t'-t is that it can't be greater than 64. 

Can someone explain what might be happening and what the solution could be?

I recently used the Hydra tool and want to share my experience. I created a custom word list and placed the password in the 10th position. When I used the command [hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked fine. Then, I shifted the same password from the 10th to the 30th row in the list and used the same command again, but it couldn't find the password. However, when I increased the number of threads with [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked.

Now, if I shift the password from the 30th to the 60th row and use the same command [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it doesn't work. It seems that I have to provide a value to -t greater than or equal to the row number where the password is located for it to work. However, the limitation of '-t' is that it can't be greater than 64. Can someone explain what might be happening and what the solution could be?

I recently used the Hydra tool and want to share my experience. I created a custom word list and placed the password in the 10th position. When I used the command

hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet

it worked fine. Then, I shifted the same password from the 10th to the 30th row in the list and used the same command again, but it couldn't find the password. However, when I increased the number of threads with

hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet

it worked.

Now, if I shift the password from the 30th to the 60th row and use the same command

hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet

it doesn't work. It seems that I have to provide a value to -t greater than or equal to the row number where the password is located for it to work. However, the limitation of -t is that it can't be greater than 64. 

Can someone explain what might be happening and what the solution could be?

deleted 52 characters in body
Source Link

I recently used the Hydra tool and want to share my experience. I created a custom word list and placed the password in the 10th position. When I used the command [hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked fine. Then, I shifted the same password from the 10th to the 30th row in the list and used the same command again, but it couldn't find the password. It tried all the passwords but didn't find a match. However, when I increased the number of threads with [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked.

Now, if I shift the password from the 30th to the 60th row and use the same command [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it doesn't work. It seems that I have to provide a value to -t greater than or equal to the row number where the password is located for it to work. However, the limitation of '-t' is that it can't be greater than 64. Can someone explain what might be happening and what the solution could be?

I recently used the Hydra tool and want to share my experience. I created a custom word list and placed the password in the 10th position. When I used the command [hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked fine. Then, I shifted the same password from the 10th to the 30th row in the list and used the same command again, but it couldn't find the password. It tried all the passwords but didn't find a match. However, when I increased the number of threads with [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked.

Now, if I shift the password from the 30th to the 60th row and use the same command [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it doesn't work. It seems that I have to provide a value to -t greater than or equal to the row number where the password is located for it to work. However, the limitation of '-t' is that it can't be greater than 64. Can someone explain what might be happening and what the solution could be?

I recently used the Hydra tool and want to share my experience. I created a custom word list and placed the password in the 10th position. When I used the command [hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked fine. Then, I shifted the same password from the 10th to the 30th row in the list and used the same command again, but it couldn't find the password. However, when I increased the number of threads with [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked.

Now, if I shift the password from the 30th to the 60th row and use the same command [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it doesn't work. It seems that I have to provide a value to -t greater than or equal to the row number where the password is located for it to work. However, the limitation of '-t' is that it can't be greater than 64. Can someone explain what might be happening and what the solution could be?

Source Link

The Hydra tool is not checking the entire wordlist

I recently used the Hydra tool and want to share my experience. I created a custom word list and placed the password in the 10th position. When I used the command [hydra -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked fine. Then, I shifted the same password from the 10th to the 30th row in the list and used the same command again, but it couldn't find the password. It tried all the passwords but didn't find a match. However, when I increased the number of threads with [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it worked.

Now, if I shift the password from the 30th to the 60th row and use the same command [hydra -t 35 -l msfadmin -P list.txt <target_ip> telnet], it doesn't work. It seems that I have to provide a value to -t greater than or equal to the row number where the password is located for it to work. However, the limitation of '-t' is that it can't be greater than 64. Can someone explain what might be happening and what the solution could be?