Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
added 315 characters in body
Source Link
laurent
  • 5.6k
  • 18
  • 50
  • 72

In VSCode, whenever the Cmd key is down and I hover over a function definition, the editor automatically jumps to that definition. This incredibly annoying since I might press Cmd whenever I want to copy and paste some text, and then the editor will switch to another file.

Any idea how to disable this behaviour? All I can find is information about disabling Cmd+Click but nothing Cmd+Hover.

Edit:

This is an example of it. I press Cmd and move the cursor over the send keyword (in client.send) without clicking. This makes VSCode follow the link. And in that file the cursor ends up over another keyword which is then followed again, even though I didn't click on anything.

enter image description here

"edit.action.goto" commands

enter image description here

"go to" commands

enter image description here

enter image description here

In VSCode, whenever the Cmd key is down and I hover over a function definition, the editor automatically jumps to that definition. This incredibly annoying since I might press Cmd whenever I want to copy and paste some text, and then the editor will switch to another file.

Any idea how to disable this behaviour? All I can find is information about disabling Cmd+Click but nothing Cmd+Hover.

Edit:

This is an example of it. I press Cmd and move the cursor over the send keyword (in client.send) without clicking. This makes VSCode follow the link. And in that file the cursor ends up over another keyword which is then followed again, even though I didn't click on anything.

enter image description here

In VSCode, whenever the Cmd key is down and I hover over a function definition, the editor automatically jumps to that definition. This incredibly annoying since I might press Cmd whenever I want to copy and paste some text, and then the editor will switch to another file.

Any idea how to disable this behaviour? All I can find is information about disabling Cmd+Click but nothing Cmd+Hover.

Edit:

This is an example of it. I press Cmd and move the cursor over the send keyword (in client.send) without clicking. This makes VSCode follow the link. And in that file the cursor ends up over another keyword which is then followed again, even though I didn't click on anything.

enter image description here

"edit.action.goto" commands

enter image description here

"go to" commands

enter image description here

enter image description here

Notice added Draw attention by laurent
Bounty Started worth 500 reputation by laurent
added 392 characters in body
Source Link
laurent
  • 5.6k
  • 18
  • 50
  • 72

In VSCode, whenever the Cmd key is down and I hover over a function definition, the editor automatically jumps to that definition. This incredibly annoying since I might press Cmd whenever I want to copy and paste some text, and then the editor will switch to another file.

Any idea how to disable this behaviour? All I can find is information about disabling Cmd+Click but nothing Cmd+Hover.

Edit:

This is an example of it. I press Cmd and move the cursor over the send keyword (in client.send) without clicking. This makes VSCode follow the link. And in that file the cursor ends up over another keyword which is then followed again, even though I didn't click on anything.

enter image description here

In VSCode, whenever the Cmd key is down and I hover over a function definition, the editor automatically jumps to that definition. This incredibly annoying since I might press Cmd whenever I want to copy and paste some text, and then the editor will switch to another file.

Any idea how to disable this behaviour? All I can find is information about disabling Cmd+Click but nothing Cmd+Hover.

In VSCode, whenever the Cmd key is down and I hover over a function definition, the editor automatically jumps to that definition. This incredibly annoying since I might press Cmd whenever I want to copy and paste some text, and then the editor will switch to another file.

Any idea how to disable this behaviour? All I can find is information about disabling Cmd+Click but nothing Cmd+Hover.

Edit:

This is an example of it. I press Cmd and move the cursor over the send keyword (in client.send) without clicking. This makes VSCode follow the link. And in that file the cursor ends up over another keyword which is then followed again, even though I didn't click on anything.

enter image description here

Source Link
laurent
  • 5.6k
  • 18
  • 50
  • 72

Disable Cmd + Hover to jump to definition in VSCode on macOS

In VSCode, whenever the Cmd key is down and I hover over a function definition, the editor automatically jumps to that definition. This incredibly annoying since I might press Cmd whenever I want to copy and paste some text, and then the editor will switch to another file.

Any idea how to disable this behaviour? All I can find is information about disabling Cmd+Click but nothing Cmd+Hover.