Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 11 at 15:24 vote accept Harry McKenzie
Jun 11 at 15:20 answer added Vlad Loktionov timeline score: 1
Apr 19 at 3:26 comment added DrMoishe Pippik Two other sources of delay: 1. When Windows boots or emerges from hibernation, it scans system file.. For about ten minutes afterwards, I find Windows PC's are far slower than they should be. 2. After a restart, DLL's are unloaded. The first time an app is run afterwards, it takes quite a bit longer for it to start. The workaround is to use Sleep, which avoids the rescan of system files and the reloading of DLL's -- but the down-side is that the PC is on continuously, albeit at greatly reduced power.
Apr 19 at 2:38 comment added Harry McKenzie @Ramhound yes. I previously was on Windows 7 when I had them downloaded on my D drive that's why I still had them. But the problem with Chrome and Inkscape and other software running quickly now were fixed by John's suggestion.
Apr 19 at 2:00 review Close votes
May 3 at 3:01
Apr 19 at 1:50 comment added Ramhound @HarryMcKenzie - Those patches to Blender are only applicable if you’re running it on Windows 7. Stop running incompatible patched software.
Apr 19 at 1:29 history edited Harry McKenzie CC BY-SA 4.0
added 722 characters in body
Apr 19 at 1:21 comment added Harry McKenzie @John your suggestion did help a lot now my Chrome and Inkscape open way quicker. Thank you soo much! But Blender 2.93 up to 3.4 still take very long time to open. Maybe because they are the hacked versions that were designed for Windows 7 but I think generally your solution is the answer I think.
Apr 19 at 0:43 comment added Ben Hutchison I had similar symptoms on an SSD that was too old to support TRIM. Your 840 Pro supports it, but it might still be good to check that trimming is happening in dfrgui.exe (SSD current status should say "OK (n days since last retrim)". Separately, I'd want to rule out antivirus as a potential performance drain.
Apr 19 at 0:30 history edited Harry McKenzie CC BY-SA 4.0
added 179 characters in body
Apr 19 at 0:25 comment added anon Even a 7200 RPM HDD once running will load Apps in a handful of seconds. I have such a machine in my basement shop and that is my experience
Apr 19 at 0:20 comment added Ramhound Are you installing these applications to the SSD or the HDD?
Apr 19 at 0:20 comment added anon 20 minutes is simply too long. Try DISM / SFC (although I have my doubts) (1) Open cmd.exe with Run as Administrator. (2) DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /StartComponentCleanup (3) DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-Image /Restorehealth (4) SFC /SCANNOW (5) Restart when all the above is complete and test. If that fails, then try a Windows 11 Repair Install from the Microsoft Media Creation Link. Keep just Data and then reinstall your Apps slowly and see if 1 or 2 are breaking your system.
Apr 19 at 0:14 history asked Harry McKenzie CC BY-SA 4.0