Skip to main content
Spelling.
Source Link
music2myear
  • 43.2k
  • 50
  • 89
  • 129

Sorry to post a question regarding legacy applications but we mutipleI have multiple systems that require legacy browsers and Java.

  I need Portable Firefox to run the Portable Java JRE version and not the Java JRE installed on the OS.

The reasonOne of these legacy systems is we havethe older HP iLOs console screen viawhich requires Java.

Operating System is Windows 10 EntepriseEnterprise version 21h2

I have Java 8 JRE update 202 installed locally on the OS for otheother applications.

Moved to follwingfollowing files to temporary folder:

- npdeploytk.dll
- npjpi160_17.dll
- npoji610.dll
- npt.dll

From C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\ 
To C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\_backup

Moved the following file:

- npjp2.dll

From C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\new_plugin\
To C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\

Edited the file called "FirefoxPortable.ini" located in C:\PortableApps\FirefoxPortablev3.6.28  with following content:

[FirefoxPortable]
PluginsDirectory=..\CommonFiles\Java\bin 

The below will prevent firefoxFirefox portable from using the "MozillaPlugins" registry entry.

Open up a new tab in portable firefoxFirefox and enter this into web address about:config and proceed further.

When I launch Firefox portable and in the addinadd in I only see Java 6 plugins:

I don't know if this is progress but as I am on closed internet network I was installed JPortable on my personal PC and copying folder CommonFiles\Java and all subfoldersub-folder within Java to the PC I have the issue with.

Sorry to post a question regarding legacy applications but we mutiple systems that require legacy browsers and Java.

  I need Portable Firefox to run the Portable Java JRE version and not the Java JRE installed on the OS.

The reason is we have HP iLOs console screen via Java.

Operating System is Windows 10 Enteprise version 21h2

I have Java 8 JRE update 202 installed locally on the OS for othe applications.

Moved to follwing files to temporary folder:

- npdeploytk.dll
- npjpi160_17.dll
- npoji610.dll
- npt.dll

From C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\ 
To C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\_backup

Moved the following file:

- npjp2.dll

From C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\new_plugin\
To C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\

Edited the file called "FirefoxPortable.ini" located in C:\PortableApps\FirefoxPortablev3.6.28  with following content:

[FirefoxPortable]
PluginsDirectory=..\CommonFiles\Java\bin 

The below will prevent firefox portable from using the "MozillaPlugins" registry entry.

Open up a new tab in portable firefox and enter this into web address about:config and proceed further.

When I launch Firefox portable and in the addin I only see Java 6 plugins:

I don't know if this is progress but as I am on closed internet network I was installed JPortable on my personal PC and copying folder CommonFiles\Java and all subfolder within Java to the PC I have the issue with.

I have multiple systems that require legacy browsers and Java. I need Portable Firefox to run the Portable Java JRE version and not the Java JRE installed on the OS.

One of these legacy systems is the older HP iLOs console screen which requires Java.

Operating System is Windows 10 Enterprise version 21h2

I have Java 8 JRE update 202 installed locally on the OS for other applications.

Moved to following files to temporary folder:

- npdeploytk.dll
- npjpi160_17.dll
- npoji610.dll
- npt.dll

From C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\ 
To C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\_backup

Moved the following file:

- npjp2.dll

From C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\new_plugin\
To C:\PortableApps\CommonFiles\Java\bin\

Edited the file called "FirefoxPortable.ini" located in C:\PortableApps\FirefoxPortablev3.6.28  with following content:

[FirefoxPortable]
PluginsDirectory=..\CommonFiles\Java\bin 

The below will prevent Firefox portable from using the "MozillaPlugins" registry entry.

Open up a new tab in portable Firefox and enter this into web address about:config and proceed further.

When I launch Firefox portable and in the add in I only see Java 6 plugins:

I don't know if this is progress but as I am on closed internet network I was installed JPortable on my personal PC and copying folder CommonFiles\Java and all sub-folder within Java to the PC I have the issue with.

added 419 characters in body
Source Link
S.Mahmood
  • 103
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

UPDATE 2

After more research and testing installing the JPortable Java JRE 6 Update 22 on my personal PC with internet connectivity and copying the folder from personal PC to another (with blocked internet access) or installing (PC with blocked internet access) JPortable Java JRE 7 Update 13 with the jre-7u13-windows-i586 file in the same install folder doesn't make a difference JPortable works both ways.

UPDATE 2

After more research and testing installing the JPortable Java JRE 6 Update 22 on my personal PC with internet connectivity and copying the folder from personal PC to another (with blocked internet access) or installing (PC with blocked internet access) JPortable Java JRE 7 Update 13 with the jre-7u13-windows-i586 file in the same install folder doesn't make a difference JPortable works both ways.

added 1232 characters in body
Source Link
S.Mahmood
  • 103
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

I need Portable Firefox to run the Portable Java JRE version and not the Java JRE installed on the OS.

The reason is we have HP iLOs console screen via Java.

Is it possible to force Firefox portable to run Java Portable JRE and not the local install of Java JRE?

Update 1

The below URL show it is possible to do a offline install on JPortable version 7:

https://ryanwintaraga.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/how-to-install-jportable-offline/

I don't know if this is progress but as I am on closed internet network I was installed JPortable on my personal PC and copying folder CommonFiles\Java and all subfolder within Java to the PC I have the issue with.

So I decided to try version jPortable_7_Update_13_online.paf and I downloaded the JRE file jre-7u13-windows-i586

I put both files in a folder (this allow offline installation) and went through the install process on my closed network PC and made the same file changes as above and re-tested on the browser.

The difference here is I get a warning stating my Java is out of date (which is a good sign as it is using portable Java JRE update 13 for the first time):

Java Warning

Then after selecting the option I get a pop window for my app and after some time the browser crashes (no warning or error messages before it):

Java Applet

I need Portable Firefox to the Portable Java JRE version and not the Java JRE installed on the OS.

Is it possible to force Firefox portable to run Java Portable JRE and not the local install of Java JRE?

I need Portable Firefox to run the Portable Java JRE version and not the Java JRE installed on the OS.

The reason is we have HP iLOs console screen via Java.

Is it possible to force Firefox portable to run Java Portable JRE and not the local install of Java JRE?

Update 1

The below URL show it is possible to do a offline install on JPortable version 7:

https://ryanwintaraga.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/how-to-install-jportable-offline/

I don't know if this is progress but as I am on closed internet network I was installed JPortable on my personal PC and copying folder CommonFiles\Java and all subfolder within Java to the PC I have the issue with.

So I decided to try version jPortable_7_Update_13_online.paf and I downloaded the JRE file jre-7u13-windows-i586

I put both files in a folder (this allow offline installation) and went through the install process on my closed network PC and made the same file changes as above and re-tested on the browser.

The difference here is I get a warning stating my Java is out of date (which is a good sign as it is using portable Java JRE update 13 for the first time):

Java Warning

Then after selecting the option I get a pop window for my app and after some time the browser crashes (no warning or error messages before it):

Java Applet

Source Link
S.Mahmood
  • 103
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6
Loading