Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 3
    If you truly want to isolate Firefox form the system, just run it in a virtual machine. You can run a Windows 10 VM on Windows 10, and distribute the VM file to each machine. That avoids the issues of different version of Java, and any other machine-specific idiosyncrasy -- each VM will be like all the others. Commented Mar 27 at 16:08
  • I agree this would be a good solution but then I have only have VMs Oracle Virtual box which would require me to install this on all PCs that require this - does this require additional IP or can it use the host system IP aswell? I could also define some "spare" PCs which the same configurations of this VM aswell but just seeing if it is possible to make it work with "Portable Firefox and Portable Java"
    – S.Mahmood
    Commented Mar 27 at 16:18
  • 1
    I didn't follow everything you tried, but there's the MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH environment variable method which might be simpler. There are also some instructions here which you might verify against what you did.
    – harrymc
    Commented Mar 28 at 18:31
  • @harrymc I did come across the system environmental variable but I didnt want to start messing with the whol systems itself but I can confirm I have already followed the information on making changes to the where I added PluginsDirectory=..\CommonFiles\Java\bin and I can confirm portable FF only sees the Java 6 update 22 plugin not my local install of Java plugins BUT it still uses the local install of Java (Java 8 in this case) of JRE but use the Java 6 update 22 plugin which is weird. I have also followed the 2nd link you posted which I posted in my inital post.
    – S.Mahmood
    Commented Apr 2 at 17:01
  • @All I have managed to get this working I will post the fix soon just been really busy with work.
    – S.Mahmood
    Commented Apr 8 at 17:52