Skip to main content
added 80 characters in body
Source Link
Spectraljump
  • 820
  • 4
  • 15
  • 32

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle (idle meaning: after the disk and or network activity FINISHED + 1h of nothing)
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on transfer / disk / storage activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in a task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on transfer / disk / storage activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in a task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle (idle meaning: after the disk and or network activity FINISHED + 1h of nothing)
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on transfer / disk / storage activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in a task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

added 9 characters in body
Source Link
Spectraljump
  • 820
  • 4
  • 15
  • 32

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on storagetransfer /transfer disk / storage activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in a task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on storage/transfer activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in a task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on transfer / disk / storage activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in a task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

edited tags
Source Link
Spectraljump
  • 820
  • 4
  • 15
  • 32

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on storage/transfer activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in ana task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on storage/transfer activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in an application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

Searching for these keywords online is difficult. I'm trying to find out if there are any hardware activity based idle thresholds in Windows (11), that are tweakable or that I can take advantage of, to PREVENT the computer from going to sleep.

Scenario:

  • my pc needs to sleep after say 1h of idle
  • my pc also needs to receive files via network ftp. (e.g. from a tablet doing backup/syncs)
  • my pc needs to NOT go to sleep due to idle if it is transferring files.

So:

  • can I prevent sleep based on a network activity threshold?
  • or based on storage/transfer activity?
  • ?

I don't think I can do this in a task scheduler + application based way, because A. I don't have events for when the application is done, and B. it could just be an SMB transfer initiated by a user/app on the network (no local application on the pc).

Source Link
Spectraljump
  • 820
  • 4
  • 15
  • 32
Loading