Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • Have you disabled "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" in the network adapter's as described here?
    – harrymc
    Commented Mar 10 at 15:04
  • @Harrymc hmm, I did recently enable the "Turn off "Only allow a magic packet to wake the computer"." - which is mentioned in your link. I wanted to only allow magic packets, because otherwise the PC would randomly turn on on its own every now and then. Didn't realize this could affect network & pc idle state --- how windows would sleep the lan when there is clear lan traffic is beyond me. I guess I could try that and live with the random turn-ons. :) I definitely don't want to disable lan power management features because that will quadruple sleep/off power consumption Commented Mar 10 at 16:31