Skip to main content
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
dharmatech
  • 237
  • 1
  • 10

I have a habit of doing the following:

win-key notepad

whenever I have to jot down a quick note.

In previous versions of windows, I would just kill notepad.exe to close all those windows.

Now, in Windows 11, all those notepad.exe windows stick around.

taskkill.exe

The recommended approach of:

taskkill.exe /F /im notepad.exe

as mentioned in this post:

How to close all notepad instances in a single close operation

doesn't work; if I run notepad, all the windows come back.

'Close all windows`

If I right click on the notepad icon on the taskbar and select 'Close all windows':

enter image description here

I get a bunch of confirmation dialogs:

enter image description hereenter image description here

Question

What's a good way to close all the notepad windows?

I have a habit of doing the following:

win-key notepad

whenever I have to jot down a quick note.

In previous versions of windows, I would just kill notepad.exe to close all those windows.

Now, in Windows 11, all those notepad.exe windows stick around.

taskkill.exe

The recommended approach of:

taskkill.exe /F /im notepad.exe

as mentioned in this post:

How to close all notepad instances in a single close operation

doesn't work; if I run notepad, all the windows come back.

'Close all windows`

If I right click on the notepad icon on the taskbar and select 'Close all windows':

enter image description here

I get a bunch of confirmation dialogs:

enter image description here

Question

What's a good way to close all the notepad windows?

I have a habit of doing the following:

win-key notepad

whenever I have to jot down a quick note.

In previous versions of windows, I would just kill notepad.exe to close all those windows.

Now, in Windows 11, all those notepad.exe windows stick around.

taskkill.exe

The recommended approach of:

taskkill.exe /F /im notepad.exe

as mentioned in this post:

How to close all notepad instances in a single close operation

doesn't work; if I run notepad, all the windows come back.

'Close all windows`

If I right click on the notepad icon on the taskbar and select 'Close all windows':

enter image description here

I get a bunch of confirmation dialogs:

enter image description here

Question

What's a good way to close all the notepad windows?

Source Link
dharmatech
  • 237
  • 1
  • 10

Close all notepad.exe windows

I have a habit of doing the following:

win-key notepad

whenever I have to jot down a quick note.

In previous versions of windows, I would just kill notepad.exe to close all those windows.

Now, in Windows 11, all those notepad.exe windows stick around.

taskkill.exe

The recommended approach of:

taskkill.exe /F /im notepad.exe

as mentioned in this post:

How to close all notepad instances in a single close operation

doesn't work; if I run notepad, all the windows come back.

'Close all windows`

If I right click on the notepad icon on the taskbar and select 'Close all windows':

enter image description here

I get a bunch of confirmation dialogs:

enter image description here

Question

What's a good way to close all the notepad windows?