Skip to main content
added 33 characters in body
Source Link
BdR
  • 221
  • 1
  • 4
  • 14

At my work we have Windows 10 and we use ODBC to connect to databases from SPSS, Rstudio and other apps. Recently we added a new registry entry to register a new database connection:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123]
"Driver"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\SQLSRV32.dll"
"Description"="MYDATABASE123"
"Server"="lab_prod.db.mydomain.com"
"Database"="labresults_P01"
"Trusted_Connection"="Yes"

And after I add this using a .reg file, I can connect to the database using the ODBC source MYDATABASE123, so this all works fine.

However, when I open either the ODBC Data Sources (64-bit) or ODBC Data Sources (32-bit) from the startmenu, I don't see this entry anywhere, not on the "User DNS" tab or on the "System DNS" tab or any other tab.

enter image description here

I noticed that another (older) entry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC is visible, so I tried adding my new entry also at that same place in the registry, but then it's still not visible in the ODBC Data Sources. So I've added both:

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123
Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123

enter image description here

So my question is

  • why is it that this ODBC connection is active (I can infact use it) but not visible in the ODBC Data Sources?
  • Do I have to add the ODBC data source at some other place?

At my work we have Windows 10 and we use ODBC to connect to databases from SPSS, Rstudio and other apps. Recently we added a new registry entry to register a new database connection:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123]
"Driver"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\SQLSRV32.dll"
"Description"="MYDATABASE123"
"Server"="lab_prod.db.mydomain.com"
"Trusted_Connection"="Yes"

And after I add this using a .reg file, I can connect to the database using the ODBC source MYDATABASE123, so this all works fine.

However, when I open either the ODBC Data Sources (64-bit) or ODBC Data Sources (32-bit) from the startmenu, I don't see this entry anywhere, not on the "User DNS" tab or on the "System DNS" tab or any other tab.

enter image description here

I noticed that another (older) entry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC is visible, so I tried adding my new entry also at that same place in the registry, but then it's still not visible in the ODBC Data Sources. So I've added both:

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123
Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123

enter image description here

So my question is

  • why is it that this ODBC connection is active (I can infact use it) but not visible in the ODBC Data Sources?
  • Do I have to add the ODBC data source at some other place?

At my work we have Windows 10 and we use ODBC to connect to databases from SPSS, Rstudio and other apps. Recently we added a new registry entry to register a new database connection:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123]
"Driver"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\SQLSRV32.dll"
"Description"="MYDATABASE123"
"Server"="lab_prod.db.mydomain.com"
"Database"="labresults_P01"
"Trusted_Connection"="Yes"

And after I add this using a .reg file, I can connect to the database using the ODBC source MYDATABASE123, so this all works fine.

However, when I open either the ODBC Data Sources (64-bit) or ODBC Data Sources (32-bit) from the startmenu, I don't see this entry anywhere, not on the "User DNS" tab or on the "System DNS" tab or any other tab.

enter image description here

I noticed that another (older) entry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC is visible, so I tried adding my new entry also at that same place in the registry, but then it's still not visible in the ODBC Data Sources. So I've added both:

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123
Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123

enter image description here

So my question is

  • why is it that this ODBC connection is active (I can infact use it) but not visible in the ODBC Data Sources?
  • Do I have to add the ODBC data source at some other place?
Source Link
BdR
  • 221
  • 1
  • 4
  • 14

ODBC entry is working but not visible in ODBC Data Connections

At my work we have Windows 10 and we use ODBC to connect to databases from SPSS, Rstudio and other apps. Recently we added a new registry entry to register a new database connection:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123]
"Driver"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\SQLSRV32.dll"
"Description"="MYDATABASE123"
"Server"="lab_prod.db.mydomain.com"
"Trusted_Connection"="Yes"

And after I add this using a .reg file, I can connect to the database using the ODBC source MYDATABASE123, so this all works fine.

However, when I open either the ODBC Data Sources (64-bit) or ODBC Data Sources (32-bit) from the startmenu, I don't see this entry anywhere, not on the "User DNS" tab or on the "System DNS" tab or any other tab.

enter image description here

I noticed that another (older) entry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC is visible, so I tried adding my new entry also at that same place in the registry, but then it's still not visible in the ODBC Data Sources. So I've added both:

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123
Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ODBC\ODBC.INI\MYDATABASE123

enter image description here

So my question is

  • why is it that this ODBC connection is active (I can infact use it) but not visible in the ODBC Data Sources?
  • Do I have to add the ODBC data source at some other place?