Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Thank you DrMoishe Pippik. I tried DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /Restorehealth followed by sfc /scannow. I immediately opened Programs and Features and the detail columns were correct. I closed the window and came back about 20 minutes later and the music columns reappeared. Next I ran DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /Restorehealth followed by sfc /scannow again then re-booted. After the boot I opened Programs and Features and the correct columns were displayed (Name, Date Modified, Type, Size). Was a re-boot necessary for this fix to stick?
    – mike mich
    Commented Feb 12 at 20:18
  • You may be seeing different views depending on the shell namespace path. Control Panel\Prograqms\Programs and Features and Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features can have different views saved. Commented Feb 12 at 21:45
  • 1
    " I immediately opened Programs and Features and the detail columns were correct. I closed the window and came back about 20 minutes later and the music columns reappeared." You've provided useful information. Now use Task Manager, Details tab, to see if there is some extra process, not part of Windows, running that could make that change. Also use Microsoft/Sysinternals Autoruns, learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/autoruns, to check what processes start up on their own. Have you installed a music indexing, app, for example? Commented Feb 12 at 22:00
  • 1
    Your comment on shell namespace was correct (should have figured this out myself since I was a .net programmer quite a few years ago). I have 3 ways to open Programs and Features (Control Panel, God Mode, my own shortcut). 1 Had the correct columns after the DISM & Scannow but the other 2 were both different. I open Programs and Features with the proper column display then selected Tools | Folder Options | View Tab and clicked on Apply to Folders button. Now all 3 ways to view Programs and Features look the same. BTW: I downloaded Autoruns and am in love with what I can see\do with this app.
    – mike mich
    Commented Feb 14 at 18:41
  • I did not recently install a new Music App. However a few weeks ago my PC flipped out and many of the Desktop Icons rearranged themselves right in front of my eves. I immediately run a scan for viruses and malware using Norton360 (nothing was found).
    – mike mich
    Commented Feb 14 at 18:42