Skip to main content
corrected spelling Remove Thanks
Source Link
Dave M
  • 13.2k
  • 25
  • 37
  • 48

How to list pacman and AUR installed packages, of an arch linux instalationArch Linux installation on mounted drive?

My computer "died", i.

I got a new one and want to migrate my archArch install to my new machine. Moved from intel do amdIntel to AMD, new motherboard, etc... so iI thought the better approach would be to do a fresh install and then 1) install all the packages i had on the old instalation and 2) copy may dot files to the new one.:

  1. install all the packages I had on the old installation
  2. copy my dot files to the new one.

But... After the fresh installation, how can I list the packages I had on the previous install? I cannot login into it to use pacman to list the packages, but i'm. I'm moving the ssdSSD to the new computer.

Should I chroot and execute pacman - q >package_list.txt? Is there an easier approach?

Thanks! Miguel

How to list pacman and AUR installed packages, of an arch linux instalation on mounted drive?

My computer "died", i got a new one and want to migrate my arch install to my new machine. Moved from intel do amd, new motherboard, etc... so i thought the better approach would be to do a fresh install and then 1) install all the packages i had on the old instalation and 2) copy may dot files to the new one.

But... After the fresh installation, how can I list the packages I had on the previous install? I cannot login into it to use pacman to list the packages, but i'm moving the ssd to the new computer.

Should I chroot and execute pacman - q >package_list.txt? Is there an easier approach?

Thanks! Miguel

How to list pacman and AUR installed packages, of an Arch Linux installation on mounted drive?

My computer "died".

I got a new one and want to migrate my Arch install to my new machine. Moved from Intel to AMD, new motherboard, etc.. I thought the better approach would be to do a fresh install and then:

  1. install all the packages I had on the old installation
  2. copy my dot files to the new one.

After the fresh installation, how can I list the packages I had on the previous install? I cannot login into it to use pacman to list the packages. I'm moving the SSD to the new computer.

Should I chroot and execute pacman - q >package_list.txt? Is there an easier approach?

Source Link

How to list pacman and AUR installed packages, of an arch linux instalation on mounted drive?

My computer "died", i got a new one and want to migrate my arch install to my new machine. Moved from intel do amd, new motherboard, etc... so i thought the better approach would be to do a fresh install and then 1) install all the packages i had on the old instalation and 2) copy may dot files to the new one.

But... After the fresh installation, how can I list the packages I had on the previous install? I cannot login into it to use pacman to list the packages, but i'm moving the ssd to the new computer.

Should I chroot and execute pacman - q >package_list.txt? Is there an easier approach?

Thanks! Miguel