Skip to main content
added information from OP's comment
Source Link
Kamil Maciorowski
  • 75.7k
  • 22
  • 152
  • 229

I am building a dual boot setup on an NVMe SSD.

The SSD shows up in diskpartdiskpart and can be accessed and formatted from there, but is not available as an installation target.

I'm using diskpart from the command shell available from the Windows installer (Shift+F10 in the installer screen). I am booted from the Windows 11 installation USB stick.

Because it is visible in diskpartdiskpart, my assumption would be that driver support is not the problem here and I can disregard the advice about using AHCI emulation mode to allow an in-box driver to attach to it.

Is there an additional filter that excludes PCIe NVMe disks as installation targets even if they otherwise work?

Are there requirements on the partition table to allow the Windows installer to operate? (I have: GPT with protective MBR, 500 MB ESP, 250 GB Linux LVM partition, remainder of space unallocated.)

I am building a dual boot setup on an NVMe SSD.

The SSD shows up in diskpart and can be accessed and formatted from there, but is not available as an installation target.

Because it is visible in diskpart, my assumption would be that driver support is not the problem here and I can disregard the advice about using AHCI emulation mode to allow an in-box driver to attach to it.

Is there an additional filter that excludes PCIe NVMe disks as installation targets even if they otherwise work?

Are there requirements on the partition table to allow the Windows installer to operate? (I have: GPT with protective MBR, 500 MB ESP, 250 GB Linux LVM partition, remainder of space unallocated)

I am building a dual boot setup on an NVMe SSD.

The SSD shows up in diskpart and can be accessed and formatted from there, but is not available as an installation target.

I'm using diskpart from the command shell available from the Windows installer (Shift+F10 in the installer screen). I am booted from the Windows 11 installation USB stick.

Because it is visible in diskpart, my assumption would be that driver support is not the problem here and I can disregard the advice about using AHCI emulation mode to allow an in-box driver to attach to it.

Is there an additional filter that excludes PCIe NVMe disks as installation targets even if they otherwise work?

Are there requirements on the partition table to allow the Windows installer to operate? (I have: GPT with protective MBR, 500 MB ESP, 250 GB Linux LVM partition, remainder of space unallocated.)

Source Link
Simon Richter
  • 2.9k
  • 1
  • 22
  • 24

SSD available in diskpart, not available in Windows 11 installation

I am building a dual boot setup on an NVMe SSD.

The SSD shows up in diskpart and can be accessed and formatted from there, but is not available as an installation target.

Because it is visible in diskpart, my assumption would be that driver support is not the problem here and I can disregard the advice about using AHCI emulation mode to allow an in-box driver to attach to it.

Is there an additional filter that excludes PCIe NVMe disks as installation targets even if they otherwise work?

Are there requirements on the partition table to allow the Windows installer to operate? (I have: GPT with protective MBR, 500 MB ESP, 250 GB Linux LVM partition, remainder of space unallocated)