Skip to main content
BIOS and UEFI are not the same things ; Grammatical corrections (incl. formatting)
Source Link
JW0914
  • 8.3k
  • 7
  • 31
  • 50

Black screen BIOS when accessing the UEFI firmware settings using a specific SSD

I'm trying to access my BIOSUEFI firmware settings to change the main boot directory to GRUB which is in my SSD; Windows is on the HDD. Howevermy SSD (Windows is on the HDD), however whenever I try to launch the BIOSUEFI firmware settings, I'm met with a black screen. After removing the SSD, the BIOS boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by windows). Trying to remove the HDD and boot with the SSD only also shows me a black screen when opening the BIOS. Connecting a different SSD however does work with and without the HDD, the BIOS boot normally.

  • After removing the SSD, the UEFI firmware settings boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by Windows)
  • Removing the HDD and booting with only the SSD shows a black screen when opening the UEFI firmware settings
    • Connecting a different SSD does work with/without the HDD, with the UEFI firmware settings booting normally

I've already tried everything, updating BIOSthe UEFI firmware, checking for HDD and SSD errors with AOMEI partition assistant and some windowsWindows default commands. So, so it must be some error from either the SSD itself or the motherboard, but I doubt isit's the motherboard assince it works with other SSDs. Thank you in advance for the help.

Asus ROG GL553VD

  • Asus ROG GL553VD
  • Intel I5i5 7300HQ
  • GTX 1050 mobile
  • 32 GB DDR3 RAM
  • SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A

Black screen BIOS when using a specific SSD

I'm trying to access my BIOS to change the main boot directory to GRUB which is in my SSD; Windows is on the HDD. However, whenever I try to launch the BIOS, I'm met with a black screen. After removing the SSD, the BIOS boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by windows). Trying to remove the HDD and boot with the SSD only also shows me a black screen when opening the BIOS. Connecting a different SSD however does work with and without the HDD, the BIOS boot normally. I've already tried everything, updating BIOS, checking for HDD and SSD errors with AOMEI partition assistant and some windows default commands. So, it must be some error from either the SSD itself or the motherboard, but I doubt is the motherboard as it works with other SSDs. Thank you in advance for the help.

  • Asus ROG GL553VD
  • Intel I5 7300HQ
  • GTX 1050 mobile
  • 32 GB DDR3 RAM
  • SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A

Black screen when accessing the UEFI firmware settings using a specific SSD

I'm trying to access my UEFI firmware settings to change the main boot directory to GRUB on my SSD (Windows is on the HDD), however whenever I try to launch the UEFI firmware settings, I'm met with a black screen.

  • After removing the SSD, the UEFI firmware settings boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by Windows)
  • Removing the HDD and booting with only the SSD shows a black screen when opening the UEFI firmware settings
    • Connecting a different SSD does work with/without the HDD, with the UEFI firmware settings booting normally

I've already tried updating the UEFI firmware, checking for HDD and SSD errors with AOMEI partition assistant and some Windows default commands, so it must be some error from either the SSD itself or the motherboard, but I doubt it's the motherboard since it works with other SSDs.

Asus ROG GL553VD

  • Intel i5 7300HQ
  • GTX 1050 mobile
  • 32 GB DDR3 RAM
  • SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A
added 12 characters in body
Source Link
Toto
  • 18.3k
  • 73
  • 33
  • 45

I'm trying to access my BIOS to change the main boot directory to GRUB which is in my SSD; Windows is on the HDD. However, whenever I try to launch the BIOS, I'm met with a black screen. After removing the SSD, the BIOS boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by windows). Trying to remove the HDD and boot with the SSD only also shows me a black screen when opening the BIOS. Connecting a different SSD however does work with and without the HDD, the BIOS boot normally. I've already tried everything, updating BIOS, checking for HDD and SSD errors with AOMEI partition assistant and some windows default commands. So, it must be some error from either the SSD itself or the motherboard, but I doubt is the motherboard as it works with other SSDs. Thank you in advance for the help. Asus ROG GL553VD Intel I5 7300HQ GTX 1050 mobile 32 GB DDR3 RAM SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A

  • Asus ROG GL553VD
  • Intel I5 7300HQ
  • GTX 1050 mobile
  • 32 GB DDR3 RAM
  • SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A

I'm trying to access my BIOS to change the main boot directory to GRUB which is in my SSD; Windows is on the HDD. However, whenever I try to launch the BIOS, I'm met with a black screen. After removing the SSD, the BIOS boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by windows). Trying to remove the HDD and boot with the SSD only also shows me a black screen when opening the BIOS. Connecting a different SSD however does work with and without the HDD, the BIOS boot normally. I've already tried everything, updating BIOS, checking for HDD and SSD errors with AOMEI partition assistant and some windows default commands. So, it must be some error from either the SSD itself or the motherboard, but I doubt is the motherboard as it works with other SSDs. Thank you in advance for the help. Asus ROG GL553VD Intel I5 7300HQ GTX 1050 mobile 32 GB DDR3 RAM SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A

I'm trying to access my BIOS to change the main boot directory to GRUB which is in my SSD; Windows is on the HDD. However, whenever I try to launch the BIOS, I'm met with a black screen. After removing the SSD, the BIOS boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by windows). Trying to remove the HDD and boot with the SSD only also shows me a black screen when opening the BIOS. Connecting a different SSD however does work with and without the HDD, the BIOS boot normally. I've already tried everything, updating BIOS, checking for HDD and SSD errors with AOMEI partition assistant and some windows default commands. So, it must be some error from either the SSD itself or the motherboard, but I doubt is the motherboard as it works with other SSDs. Thank you in advance for the help.

  • Asus ROG GL553VD
  • Intel I5 7300HQ
  • GTX 1050 mobile
  • 32 GB DDR3 RAM
  • SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A
Source Link

Black screen BIOS when using a specific SSD

I'm trying to access my BIOS to change the main boot directory to GRUB which is in my SSD; Windows is on the HDD. However, whenever I try to launch the BIOS, I'm met with a black screen. After removing the SSD, the BIOS boots completely normal (with certain small flaws caused by windows). Trying to remove the HDD and boot with the SSD only also shows me a black screen when opening the BIOS. Connecting a different SSD however does work with and without the HDD, the BIOS boot normally. I've already tried everything, updating BIOS, checking for HDD and SSD errors with AOMEI partition assistant and some windows default commands. So, it must be some error from either the SSD itself or the motherboard, but I doubt is the motherboard as it works with other SSDs. Thank you in advance for the help. Asus ROG GL553VD Intel I5 7300HQ GTX 1050 mobile 32 GB DDR3 RAM SSD: HFM512GDJTNG-8310A