Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 30 at 22:10 comment added cst_ramirez unfortunately I've rolled back all feature and quality updates to no change, and reinstalled Windows twice, once while keeping files, and once while deleting them. I'm certain it will do nothing. I'm currently trying to teach myself xperf so I can try and diagnose the problem similar to what Florian Storck was able to do.
Jan 30 at 18:59 comment added cst_ramirez thanks for the suggestion to use Process Explorer. I added the info to my original post.
Jan 29 at 18:21 comment added DrMoishe Pippik @cst_ramirez, I've added info on using Microsoft's own Process Explorer to get a better handle (no pun intended) on what threads under System process might cause the issue.
Jan 29 at 18:19 history edited DrMoishe Pippik CC BY-SA 4.0
added 642 characters in body
Jan 29 at 16:04 comment added cst_ramirez The external drive was not indexed, but I rebuilt the index anyway. The problem persists though. You mentioned Windows Defender, but I can see what processes it uses in the task manager (antimalware service executable, etc.), and it is always the 'System' process. I have a feeling this is something else. Any good way to see which thread in the System process in responsible for this?
Jan 23 at 23:08 comment added cst_ramirez Interesting suggestion, I never rebuilt the index. I added a 2nd internal HDD recently, I wonder if the index just got confused and started looping for whatever reason. Maybe it has nothing to do with it at all, but I will still try this and see what happens.
Jan 22 at 17:51 history answered DrMoishe Pippik CC BY-SA 4.0