Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 14 at 15:47 answer added oscarMg timeline score: 0
May 27 at 6:20 answer added David Yang timeline score: 2
Feb 4 at 9:39 audit Suggested edits
Feb 4 at 9:40
Jan 29 at 23:44 comment added Daniel Kaplan @Ramhound ah. Now I understand. I'll clarify: Hyper-V was checked for me. I unchecked, restarted, checked, restarted. From your comment I see it wasn't necessary for it to be on in the first place. I'm not sure how it got like that.
Jan 29 at 23:15 comment added Ramhound "toggle the win10 feature named Hyper-V" - This could be taken two days. If it's enabled you disable Hyper-V, likewise, it could also mean if it's disabled you enable it. My comment was to indicate that Hyper-V is not required for WSL to be functional.
Jan 29 at 23:04 comment added Daniel Kaplan @Ramhound I may have misunderstood the point of your "Hyper-V isn’t required for WSL" comment. Is it to rule out Hyper-V as the cause of my WSL problems?
Jan 29 at 22:42 comment added Ramhound If you read the prerequisites for WSL2, the documentation clearly indicates. that Virtual Machine Platform is required not Hyper-V. So the FAQ you linked to is not out of date. "The newest version of WSL uses Hyper-V architecture to enable its virtualization. This architecture will be available in the 'Virtual Machine Platform' optional component. This optional component will be available on all SKUs.""
Jan 29 at 22:17 comment added Daniel Kaplan @Ramhound Hm. Is the faq out of date? Maybe what it means is "Virtual Machine Platform" sets up its own Hyper-V so I don't need to check the box?
Jan 29 at 20:42 comment added Ramhound Hyper-V isn’t required for WSL.
Jan 29 at 20:05 comment added Daniel Kaplan I'm sure this is TMI as it is, but I was able to resolve this. The details of my journey are documented here: github.com/microsoft/WSL/issues/11067#issuecomment-1911527056 TL;DR: reinstall WSL, toggle the win10 feature named Hyper-V, and avoid running wsl --upgrade. I've yet to confirm which of those last two are necessary, but I'm pretty confident at least 1 is.
Jan 14 at 0:22 history edited Giacomo1968 CC BY-SA 4.0
Attempt to fix number formatting.
Jan 13 at 7:56 review Close votes
Jan 29 at 3:06
Jan 13 at 7:40 comment added Ramhound Uninstall everything then reinstall WSL from the Microsoft Store and after that is installed should you install WSL distribution
Jan 13 at 5:08 history asked Daniel Kaplan CC BY-SA 4.0