Skip to main content
added 13 characters in body
Source Link

I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27 and my problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly.

For example, when I open Dolphin file manager I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though.

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB drive I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition.

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks?

I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27 and my problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly.

For example, when I open Dolphin I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though.

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB drive I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition.

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks?

I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27 and my problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly.

For example, when I open Dolphin file manager I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though.

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB drive I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition.

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks?

Paragraph breaks and bringing details to the fore.
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

MyI am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27 and my problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly.

For example, when I open Dolphin I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though.

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB drive I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition.

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks? I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27.

My problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly.

For example, when I open Dolphin I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though.

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition.

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks? I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27.

I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27 and my problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly.

For example, when I open Dolphin I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though.

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB drive I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition.

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks?

Break
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Hello myMy problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly. 

For example, when I open Dolphin I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though. 

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition. 

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks? I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27.

Hello my problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly. For example, when I open Dolphin I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though. Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition. Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks? I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27.

My problem is that every time I open an app it won't allow me to do things as sudo or permissions are not set correctly. 

For example, when I open Dolphin I can read, write and modify files in my home folder but if I go down to the root folders I can't write or modify files. I have to open a terminal create a file in root by using the sudo command. I want to be able to use Dolphin to do these tasks though. 

Another example is KDE partition manager. When I open it I can see all my devices but if I try to format my USB I don't really get the option to do anything. All options are greyed out and there is a lock next to the partition. 

Is there anyway that I can just open apps as sudo and allow them to have sudo access so that I don't have to go to the terminal to complete these tasks? I am running Debian 12 with KDE Plasma desktop 5.27.

Source Link
Loading