Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 27, 2023 at 19:18 comment added DrMoishe Pippik A full disk image is a snapshot of everything on the SSD or HDD. If the drive goes bad, and you replace it and restore from the image, you'd be back at the same state as when the image was made.
Nov 27, 2023 at 17:28 comment added VJZ @DrMoishePippik can you tell me more about full disk recoveries? Will it restore my windows state like a virtual machine snapshot?
Nov 26, 2023 at 20:56 comment added DrMoishe Pippik 1. Full disk images are far more effective than Windows Recovery. Make (and verify!) images periodically, create a USB rescue environment, and you have lost nothing without Windows Recovery. After all, should there be serious drive issues, the Recovery partition could be damaged. 2. If you do want to reinstall that partition, as others have mentioned, do a full install from ISO --and if that wipes the disk, then restore Windows from the image.
Nov 26, 2023 at 20:54 answer added grawity_u1686 timeline score: 0
Nov 26, 2023 at 20:54 comment added harrymc I suggest that using the computer when the disk is this screwed-up is asking for trouble. Better to take backup of your files, format the disk and reinstall Windows and apps.
Nov 26, 2023 at 20:44 comment added VJZ Yeah I was just going to wing it but I was wondering if my installation ever got corrupted, what would happen? Should I not go into recovery mode? Because I am afraid recovery mode will overwrite my C: partition with its stuff which deletes all my stuff on C: drive.
Nov 26, 2023 at 20:40 comment added VJZ No I do not have dual boot, Windows 11 is installed normally it seems to me and I can use it fine.
Nov 26, 2023 at 20:35 history asked VJZ CC BY-SA 4.0