Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 17, 2023 at 13:58 comment added Adam J. Kessel I don’t want it to exclude all Outlook data, only PSTs associated with the non-default profile that are not typically open in Outlook. The control panel does not have any way to exclude individual profiles or PSTs.
Nov 17, 2023 at 9:17 comment added Faery Try to modify the indexing options in the Control Panel. You can do this by searching and opening Control Panel in Windows search bar, clicking on Modify, unchecking Microsoft application/Outlook and clicking on OK. This will stop Windows Search from indexing any Outlook data, including PSTs.
Nov 13, 2023 at 12:42 comment added Adam J. Kessel I still want to use WDS to search PSTs that are open in Outlook, just exclude the ones that are not. Searching Outlook without indexing is very slow.
Nov 13, 2023 at 1:53 comment added anon In Search Index locations, Outlook is separate from Users. You could exclude Outlook and search manually in Outlook.
Nov 13, 2023 at 1:50 comment added Adam J. Kessel If all of my PSTs are indexed, I end up with well over a million items, which seems to cause problem with index stability. I thought WDS would only index PSTs that are open in Outlook (or in a folder tagged for indexing) but on my box, it seems to be indexing them no matter what I do.
Nov 12, 2023 at 21:41 comment added anon My Search folder is only 2 GB and I have 11 PST archive files (185,000 items indexed). Outlook files are part of the Index location USERS and I cannot see how to not index just a small part of this.
Nov 12, 2023 at 21:27 history asked Adam J. Kessel CC BY-SA 4.0