Skip to main content
added clarification that I am not stuck installing Windows 10
Source Link
Xonatron
  • 1.2k
  • 6
  • 16
  • 22

Can you downgrade a new computer installed with Windows 11 down to Windows 10?

To be clear, I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!Clarification:

  • I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!
  • I am not stuck downgrading to Windows 10. I have a device that came with Windows 11 and want to know if I have a license for Windows 10 built in somehow. That is all.

Reasoning: My 10 year old workstation running Windows 10 does file explorer navigation faster than my new gaming laptop running Windows 11. Win 10 has immediate file explore response on an old system, where Win 11 never does and often has 10+ second wait times in some folders. All the same software installed -- which I keep quite minimal. Both running OneDrive.

APPEND: It was OneDrive that is making file/folder accessing slow in file explorer. It is not networked drives. I have the same OneDrive, same files/folders, on both machines, so it's Windows 10 vs. Windows 11 here, to my knowledge.

Can you downgrade a new computer installed with Windows 11 down to Windows 10?

To be clear, I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!

Reasoning: My 10 year old workstation running Windows 10 does file explorer navigation faster than my new gaming laptop running Windows 11. Win 10 has immediate file explore response on an old system, where Win 11 never does and often has 10+ second wait times in some folders. All the same software installed -- which I keep quite minimal. Both running OneDrive.

APPEND: It was OneDrive that is making file/folder accessing slow in file explorer. It is not networked drives. I have the same OneDrive, same files/folders, on both machines, so it's Windows 10 vs. Windows 11 here, to my knowledge.

Can you downgrade a new computer installed with Windows 11 down to Windows 10?

Clarification:

  • I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!
  • I am not stuck downgrading to Windows 10. I have a device that came with Windows 11 and want to know if I have a license for Windows 10 built in somehow. That is all.

Reasoning: My 10 year old workstation running Windows 10 does file explorer navigation faster than my new gaming laptop running Windows 11. Win 10 has immediate file explore response on an old system, where Win 11 never does and often has 10+ second wait times in some folders. All the same software installed -- which I keep quite minimal. Both running OneDrive.

APPEND: It was OneDrive that is making file/folder accessing slow in file explorer. It is not networked drives. I have the same OneDrive, same files/folders, on both machines, so it's Windows 10 vs. Windows 11 here, to my knowledge.

added more clarification re: OneDrive
Source Link
Xonatron
  • 1.2k
  • 6
  • 16
  • 22

Can you downgrade a new computer installed with Windows 11 down to Windows 10?

To be clear, I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!

Reasoning: My 10 year old workstation running Windows 10 does file explorer navigation faster than my new gaming laptop running Windows 11. Win 10 has immediate file explore response on an old system, where Win 11 never does and often has 10+ second wait times on a new systemin some folders. All the same software installed -- which I keep quite minimal. Both running OneDrive.

APPEND: It was OneDrive that is making file/folder accessing slow in file explorer. It is not networked drives. I have the same OneDrive, same files/folders, on both machines, so it's Windows 10 vs. Windows 11 here, to my knowledge.

Can you downgrade a new computer installed with Windows 11 down to Windows 10?

To be clear, I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!

Reasoning: My 10 year old workstation running Windows 10 does file explorer navigation faster than my new gaming laptop running Windows 11. Win 10 has immediate file explore response on an old system, where Win 11 never does and often has 10+ second wait times on a new system. All the same software installed -- which I keep quite minimal.

Can you downgrade a new computer installed with Windows 11 down to Windows 10?

To be clear, I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!

Reasoning: My 10 year old workstation running Windows 10 does file explorer navigation faster than my new gaming laptop running Windows 11. Win 10 has immediate file explore response on an old system, where Win 11 never does and often has 10+ second wait times in some folders. All the same software installed -- which I keep quite minimal. Both running OneDrive.

APPEND: It was OneDrive that is making file/folder accessing slow in file explorer. It is not networked drives. I have the same OneDrive, same files/folders, on both machines, so it's Windows 10 vs. Windows 11 here, to my knowledge.

Source Link
Xonatron
  • 1.2k
  • 6
  • 16
  • 22

Downgrade Windows 11 to Windows 10 (starting from Windows 11)?

Can you downgrade a new computer installed with Windows 11 down to Windows 10?

To be clear, I am not asking about downgrading after upgrading (like an undo). As I am aware that is possible!

Reasoning: My 10 year old workstation running Windows 10 does file explorer navigation faster than my new gaming laptop running Windows 11. Win 10 has immediate file explore response on an old system, where Win 11 never does and often has 10+ second wait times on a new system. All the same software installed -- which I keep quite minimal.