Skip to main content

Timeline for Windows keeps switching to Ethernet

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 29, 2023 at 21:22 comment added Garhoogin @John I don't want to disable my Ethernet interface since I am using that to communicate with the router, I just don't want to use it for an Internet connection on my laptop. I tried setting the metric of the WiFi interface to 5 and Ethernet to 1, which didn't seem to have any effect for me (please correct me if this isn't how that's supposed to be set up).
Oct 29, 2023 at 5:47 comment added Tom Yan I assume you are using static IP for the Ethernet interface (because I don't see how otherwise could make sense). Have you set a default gateway for it? Because you shouldn't.
Oct 29, 2023 at 0:45 comment added anon Two ways: Unplug the Ethernet Also (alternative) set the metric (network properties) so that Wireless ranks higher than Ethernet.
Oct 29, 2023 at 0:14 history asked Garhoogin CC BY-SA 4.0