Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Honestly this is a duplicate of like 20 "CGNAT" threads by now but I don't have the energy to search for them either Commented Sep 17, 2023 at 6:15
  • 1
    Re: "IP that websites report", sites like whatismyipaddress.com (and there are loads of others), or simply googling "what is my ip address" will show you what public IP address they're seeing your connecting from currently, but it will likely change. Commented Sep 17, 2023 at 9:52
  • @u1686_grawity Thanks, I was worried about that. The thing is, my router does actually support hosting an OpenVPN server, and I tried experimenting with it in the past, but I never got it to work, and I suspect it's for the same reason? I use TAP as the interface type (since I want clients to access the LAN), port 1025, tried with both TCP and UDP, various encryption protocols, TLS certificate-based auth, but when I then try to connect using an OpenVPN client with the router-generated certificate on a remote device, I get "TCP: connect to[AF_INET]100.100.xxx.xx:1025 failed: Unknown error" Commented Sep 17, 2023 at 12:23
  • @Faptimus420: It's for the exact same reason. Port-forwarding on your router isn't working because the packets from Internet never reach your router to begin with; for the same reason, any service hosted directly on the router will not work either. Commented Sep 17, 2023 at 12:38