Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link

I am attempting to setup port-forwarding on my Asus router so that I can, among other things, SSH to one device connected to LAN from the Internet.

Since my Internet provider doesn't provide me with a static IP, I setup DDNS with no-ip.com - I configured the provided hostname in my router's DDNS settings with the username and password. When I look at the no-ip.com dashboard, I can see that the target is correctly showing up as my router's public IP (in the form 100.100.xxx.xx, which matches the IP I see in the router config page).

In the router's port-forwarding config, I set it to listen to both UDP and TCP on port 500, forwarding the connection to the IP of the local device I want to SSH to on port 22. I setup a SSH server on the target device (listening on port 22), and added an exception for port 22 in the device firewall.

Now, when I try to SHH to the device (using the command ssh usernameplaceholder@noiphostname@ddns[email protected].net -p 500), if I'm trying it from another device connected to the same LAN, the connection succeeds. However, if I enable the VPN service I use on that device, or try to execute the command from a device connected to a completely different network, the connection times out. Likewise, if I try to run the command Test-NetConnection noiphostname.ddns.net from PowerShell on a Windows device, the ping fails/succeeds in the same fashion as the SSH connections.

Anyone that could help me troubleshoot what's going on?

I am attempting to setup port-forwarding on my Asus router so that I can, among other things, SSH to one device connected to LAN from the Internet.

Since my Internet provider doesn't provide me with a static IP, I setup DDNS with no-ip.com - I configured the provided hostname in my router's DDNS settings with the username and password. When I look at the no-ip.com dashboard, I can see that the target is correctly showing up as my router's public IP (in the form 100.100.xxx.xx, which matches the IP I see in the router config page).

In the router's port-forwarding config, I set it to listen to both UDP and TCP on port 500, forwarding the connection to the IP of the local device I want to SSH to on port 22. I setup a SSH server on the target device (listening on port 22), and added an exception for port 22 in the device firewall.

Now, when I try to SHH to the device (using the command ssh usernameplaceholder@noiphostname@ddns.net -p 500), if I'm trying it from another device connected to the same LAN, the connection succeeds. However, if I enable the VPN service I use on that device, or try to execute the command from a device connected to a completely different network, the connection times out. Likewise, if I try to run the command Test-NetConnection noiphostname.ddns.net from PowerShell on a Windows device, the ping fails/succeeds in the same fashion as the SSH connections.

Anyone that could help me troubleshoot what's going on?

I am attempting to setup port-forwarding on my Asus router so that I can, among other things, SSH to one device connected to LAN from the Internet.

Since my Internet provider doesn't provide me with a static IP, I setup DDNS with no-ip.com - I configured the provided hostname in my router's DDNS settings with the username and password. When I look at the no-ip.com dashboard, I can see that the target is correctly showing up as my router's public IP (in the form 100.100.xxx.xx, which matches the IP I see in the router config page).

In the router's port-forwarding config, I set it to listen to both UDP and TCP on port 500, forwarding the connection to the IP of the local device I want to SSH to on port 22. I setup a SSH server on the target device (listening on port 22), and added an exception for port 22 in the device firewall.

Now, when I try to SHH to the device (using the command ssh [email protected].net -p 500), if I'm trying it from another device connected to the same LAN, the connection succeeds. However, if I enable the VPN service I use on that device, or try to execute the command from a device connected to a completely different network, the connection times out. Likewise, if I try to run the command Test-NetConnection noiphostname.ddns.net from PowerShell on a Windows device, the ping fails/succeeds in the same fashion as the SSH connections.

Anyone that could help me troubleshoot what's going on?

edited title
Link

Router with DDNS accessible by local devices but not from the Internet using its DDNS hostname

Source Link

Router with DDNS accessible by local devices but not from the Internet

I am attempting to setup port-forwarding on my Asus router so that I can, among other things, SSH to one device connected to LAN from the Internet.

Since my Internet provider doesn't provide me with a static IP, I setup DDNS with no-ip.com - I configured the provided hostname in my router's DDNS settings with the username and password. When I look at the no-ip.com dashboard, I can see that the target is correctly showing up as my router's public IP (in the form 100.100.xxx.xx, which matches the IP I see in the router config page).

In the router's port-forwarding config, I set it to listen to both UDP and TCP on port 500, forwarding the connection to the IP of the local device I want to SSH to on port 22. I setup a SSH server on the target device (listening on port 22), and added an exception for port 22 in the device firewall.

Now, when I try to SHH to the device (using the command ssh usernameplaceholder@[email protected] -p 500), if I'm trying it from another device connected to the same LAN, the connection succeeds. However, if I enable the VPN service I use on that device, or try to execute the command from a device connected to a completely different network, the connection times out. Likewise, if I try to run the command Test-NetConnection noiphostname.ddns.net from PowerShell on a Windows device, the ping fails/succeeds in the same fashion as the SSH connections.

Anyone that could help me troubleshoot what's going on?