Skip to main content
added 231 characters in body
Source Link
Daniel Kaplan
  • 789
  • 1
  • 13
  • 28

UPDATE: Although this solved the immediate problem, after I restarted it reappeared. I'm keeping this around because as I said below, after all the things I've tried, it's worth keeping track of what doesn't work.


I'm experiencing this with a USB headset, which, to my understanding, means it comes with its own audio drivers unrelated to the sound card?

Regardless, I followed some similar steps to @tkit's answer that fixed my issue.

  • go to Device Manager
  • open up Sound, video and game controllers
  • right-click on the device and choose Update Driver software
  • Click on Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
  • This showed a popup: enter image description here I picked the only option there, which I actually think was the same one I already had.
  • Click "Next"
  • I went through the installation process and when it finished, my volume returned to normal.

PS: TBH, I'm concerned this fix is temporary and will reappear. If that happens, I'll update this answer saying so; after all the things I've tried, it's worth documentingkeeping track of what doesn't work.

PSS: Strangely, the second time I went through these steps (I did this to write them down in this answer), I got a notification that said I needed to restart my computer for these changes. I don't think I saw that the first time.

I'm experiencing this with a USB headset, which, to my understanding, means it comes with its own audio drivers unrelated to the sound card?

Regardless, I followed some similar steps to @tkit's answer that fixed my issue.

  • go to Device Manager
  • open up Sound, video and game controllers
  • right-click on the device and choose Update Driver software
  • Click on Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
  • This showed a popup: enter image description here I picked the only option there, which I actually think was the same one I already had.
  • Click "Next"
  • I went through the installation process and when it finished, my volume returned to normal.

PS: TBH, I'm concerned this fix is temporary and will reappear. If that happens, I'll update this answer saying so; after all the things I've tried, it's worth documenting what doesn't work.

PSS: Strangely, the second time I went through these steps (I did this to write them down in this answer), I got a notification that said I needed to restart my computer for these changes. I don't think I saw that the first time.

UPDATE: Although this solved the immediate problem, after I restarted it reappeared. I'm keeping this around because as I said below, after all the things I've tried, it's worth keeping track of what doesn't work.


I'm experiencing this with a USB headset, which, to my understanding, means it comes with its own audio drivers unrelated to the sound card?

Regardless, I followed some similar steps to @tkit's answer that fixed my issue.

  • go to Device Manager
  • open up Sound, video and game controllers
  • right-click on the device and choose Update Driver software
  • Click on Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
  • This showed a popup: enter image description here I picked the only option there, which I actually think was the same one I already had.
  • Click "Next"
  • I went through the installation process and when it finished, my volume returned to normal.

PS: TBH, I'm concerned this fix is temporary and will reappear. If that happens, I'll update this answer saying so; after all the things I've tried, it's worth keeping track of what doesn't work.

PSS: Strangely, the second time I went through these steps (I did this to write them down in this answer), I got a notification that said I needed to restart my computer for these changes. I don't think I saw that the first time.

added 5 characters in body
Source Link
Daniel Kaplan
  • 789
  • 1
  • 13
  • 28

I'm experiencing this with a USB headset, which, to my understanding, means it comes with its own audio drivers unrelated to the sound card?

Regardless, I followed some similar steps to @tkit's answer that fixed my issue.

  • go to Device Manager
  • open up Sound, video and game controllers
  • right-click on the device and choose Update Driver software
  • Click on Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
  • This showed a popup: enter image description here I picked the only option there, which I actually think was the same one I already had.
  • Click "Next"
  • I went through the installation process and when it finished, my volume returned to normal.

PS: TBH, I'm concerned this fix is temporary and will reappear. If that happens, I'll update this answer saying so; after all the things I've tried, it's worth documenting what doesn't work.

PSS: Strangely, the second time I went through these steps (I did this to write them down in this answer), I got a notification that said I needed to restart my computer for these changes. I don't think I saw that the first time.

I'm experiencing this with a USB headset, which, to my understanding, means it comes with its own audio drivers unrelated to the sound card?

Regardless, I followed some similar steps to @tkit's answer that fixed my issue.

  • go to Device Manager
  • open up Sound, video and game controllers
  • right-click on the device and choose Update Driver software
  • Click on Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
  • This showed a popup: enter image description here I picked the only option there, which I actually think was the same one I already had.
  • Click "Next"
  • I went through the installation process and when it finished, my volume returned to normal.

PS: TBH, I'm concerned this fix is temporary and reappear. If that happens, I'll update this answer saying so; after all the things I've tried, it's worth documenting what doesn't work.

PSS: Strangely, the second time I went through these steps (I did this to write them down in this answer), I got a notification that said I needed to restart my computer for these changes. I don't think I saw that the first time.

I'm experiencing this with a USB headset, which, to my understanding, means it comes with its own audio drivers unrelated to the sound card?

Regardless, I followed some similar steps to @tkit's answer that fixed my issue.

  • go to Device Manager
  • open up Sound, video and game controllers
  • right-click on the device and choose Update Driver software
  • Click on Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
  • This showed a popup: enter image description here I picked the only option there, which I actually think was the same one I already had.
  • Click "Next"
  • I went through the installation process and when it finished, my volume returned to normal.

PS: TBH, I'm concerned this fix is temporary and will reappear. If that happens, I'll update this answer saying so; after all the things I've tried, it's worth documenting what doesn't work.

PSS: Strangely, the second time I went through these steps (I did this to write them down in this answer), I got a notification that said I needed to restart my computer for these changes. I don't think I saw that the first time.

Source Link
Daniel Kaplan
  • 789
  • 1
  • 13
  • 28

I'm experiencing this with a USB headset, which, to my understanding, means it comes with its own audio drivers unrelated to the sound card?

Regardless, I followed some similar steps to @tkit's answer that fixed my issue.

  • go to Device Manager
  • open up Sound, video and game controllers
  • right-click on the device and choose Update Driver software
  • Click on Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
  • This showed a popup: enter image description here I picked the only option there, which I actually think was the same one I already had.
  • Click "Next"
  • I went through the installation process and when it finished, my volume returned to normal.

PS: TBH, I'm concerned this fix is temporary and reappear. If that happens, I'll update this answer saying so; after all the things I've tried, it's worth documenting what doesn't work.

PSS: Strangely, the second time I went through these steps (I did this to write them down in this answer), I got a notification that said I needed to restart my computer for these changes. I don't think I saw that the first time.