Skip to main content
added 978 characters in body
Source Link

I've gotVictory! I have a bit ofsolution and a workaround.

The workaround:

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This seems to dodoes the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't, but it's not a good long-term solution because the drive's content can't be used by anything during startup.

For instance, if I place my docker images on the external partition, I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking forThe solution:

I created a better solution, butunit mount file /etc/systemd/system/opt.mount:

# External thunderbolt SSD.  Thunderbolt drives require the boltd daemon which is launched by udev.

[Unit]
After=systemd-udevd.service
Requires=systemd-fsck@dev-disk-by\x2duuid-cb9940d0\x2d5b0b\x2d4273\x2d97d7\x2db4dd29768926.service
Requires=systemd-udevd.service
After=systemd-fsck@dev-disk-by\x2duuid-cb9940d0\x2d5b0b\x2d4273\x2d97d7\x2db4dd29768926.service
After=blockdev@dev-disk-by\x2duuid-cb9940d0\x2d5b0b\x2d4273\x2d97d7\x2db4dd29768926.target

[Mount]
Where=/opt
What=/dev/disk/by-uuid/cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926
Type=ext4
Options=rw,relatime,nofail

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

I thought I'd post this workaroundbelieve the Requires=systemd-udevd.service line is the trick. I don't know why the x-systemd.requires option in case it helps othersthe fstab didn't work.

This unit file needs to be enabled using this command:

sudo systemctl enable opt.mount

Now when I reboot, my thunderbolt SSD is mounted!

I've got a bit of a workaround.

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This seems to do the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't a good long-term solution.

For instance, if I place my docker images on the external partition, I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking for a better solution, but I thought I'd post this workaround in case it helps others.

Victory! I have a solution and a workaround.

The workaround:

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This does the job, but it's not a good solution because the drive's content can't be used by anything during startup.

For instance, if I place my docker images on the external partition, I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

The solution:

I created a unit mount file /etc/systemd/system/opt.mount:

# External thunderbolt SSD.  Thunderbolt drives require the boltd daemon which is launched by udev.

[Unit]
After=systemd-udevd.service
Requires=systemd-fsck@dev-disk-by\x2duuid-cb9940d0\x2d5b0b\x2d4273\x2d97d7\x2db4dd29768926.service
Requires=systemd-udevd.service
After=systemd-fsck@dev-disk-by\x2duuid-cb9940d0\x2d5b0b\x2d4273\x2d97d7\x2db4dd29768926.service
After=blockdev@dev-disk-by\x2duuid-cb9940d0\x2d5b0b\x2d4273\x2d97d7\x2db4dd29768926.target

[Mount]
Where=/opt
What=/dev/disk/by-uuid/cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926
Type=ext4
Options=rw,relatime,nofail

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

I believe the Requires=systemd-udevd.service line is the trick. I don't know why the x-systemd.requires option in the fstab didn't work.

This unit file needs to be enabled using this command:

sudo systemctl enable opt.mount

Now when I reboot, my thunderbolt SSD is mounted!

added 59 characters in body
Source Link

I've got a bit of a workaround.

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This seems to do the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't a good long-term solution.

For instance, what if I place my docker images on the external partition?, I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking for a better solution, but I thought I'd post this workaround in case it helps others.

I've got a bit of a workaround.

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This seems to do the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't a good long-term solution.

For instance, what if I place my docker images on the external partition? I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking for a better solution.

I've got a bit of a workaround.

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This seems to do the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't a good long-term solution.

For instance, if I place my docker images on the external partition, I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking for a better solution, but I thought I'd post this workaround in case it helps others.

added 88 characters in body
Source Link

I've got a bit of a workaround.

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This seems to do the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't a good long-term solution.

For instance, what if I place my docker images on the external partition? I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking for a better solution.

I've got a bit of a workaround.

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

This seems to do the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't a good long-term solution.

For instance, what if I place my docker images on the external partition? I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking for a better solution.

I've got a bit of a workaround.

This article inspired me to remove the mount from my fstab and instead add a mount command to my /etc/rc.local.

mount -t ext4 -o rw,noatime -U cb9940d0-5b0b-4273-97d7-b4dd29768926 /opt

This seems to do the job for now. But I'm worried this isn't a good long-term solution.

For instance, what if I place my docker images on the external partition? I'm assuming that docker will launch before rc.local, try to find autostart images on my external drive and fail.

So I'm still looking for a better solution.

Source Link
Loading